A1229 2.4GHZ (Faulty) - Worth the money?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AMBPNewbie, Dec 8, 2011.

1. AMBPNewbie macrumors newbie

Hello everyone! I'm new to the forum, so hopefully this has been posted in the right place. I've lusted after a Mac laptop ever since I used an iBook at school. For whatever reason (my Dad doubting that any machine could be as awesome as I kept insisting?), I never got one and lumbered on with a range of other computers that would last a couple of years at best.

I've been thinking of 'building' one of my own for a while now. I've been using a really dreadful HP 550 since 2009 (I basically grabbed the first machine I saw that was within my limited budget), but doing some renovations over the weekend, I dropped a door on it. The already useless machine is now a tangled mess of screen and shattered plastic.

I know that saving money and buying a new/refurbished MacBook from Apple would be the smart thing to do. But at the same time, I'm looking for a project. Something for me to do while I get over a horrible break-up. I'm not a heavy gamer (just playing updated versions of Championship Manager 01-02) and just use the laptop for surfing the internet, watching YouTube videos and typing fairly standard documents. Nothing too intensive or major.

Without a doubt, I want a Mac. I can't explain why, but over the past week, the pull has been incredible. Perhaps I've tapped into some part of my youth or something. Anyway, browsing for a bargain on eBay (I know! I know!), I found a MacBook Pro from 2007. It's listed as faulty, but from what I can make out from the pictures, there's just cosmetic damage (a few keys are missing, the casing around the screen has cracked a little bit - but compared to the HP 550 I was using, it's still in much better condition!). The computer loads up, but it looks like there is a Kernel Panic that is stopping it from going any further.