About to be a parent, need the best way to share the pics...

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Tilpots, Oct 26, 2008.

1. Tilpots macrumors 601

Tilpots

Hope I'm posting in the right spot...

So, I'm preparing to be a proud Papa and I want to set up a website/blog to share pictures and stories with family and friends spread throughout the country. My niece's parents use blogger.com and it's been a great way to keep up with them. I've looked into it and it seems like it could work well, but I wanted to see if there were some other ideas you all have seen that work better.

I've never built a website or a blog before but I still got a couple months to learn. I'd be looking for a FREE solution, also. Thanks!

2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

Congrats to you and your wife!
    Do you have iWeb? This is by far the easiest way to do it. If not then you can use the following WYSIWYG products.

Photoblog
    Flickr Blog
    Shutterfly
    Pbase

Any of those really.

3. Tilpots thread starter macrumors 601

Tilpots

Thanks Jessica! I'll take a look at each of them. Saw your sig, moving to my neck of the woods?

4. Mitou macrumors regular

congratulations on the happy happening.
    I agree iWeb is by far the easiest and you will be able to publish your photos directly from your iphoto.

5. MrSmith macrumors 68040

MrSmith

6. Tilpots thread starter macrumors 601

Tilpots

With iWeb, do I need to have Mobile Me or my own website to publish to, or can I use it to customize a page on a free service like Blogger? I played around with iWeb for a little while last night before I went to bed and it did seem very user friendly. This is looking like a great way to create a page for a beginner like me, but I want to understand where I can publish to. Sorry, but I'm a total newb with the web stuff.:eek: