Absolute noobie to DSLR photography, just a few Q's

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Ungibbed, Sep 25, 2011.

1. Ungibbed macrumors 6502

Ungibbed

For the longest time I have been using a point & shoot Fuji (which isn't a bad camera for it's compact size) and my phone (HTC Sensation)

I always wanted to get into a Digital SLR but budget has always held me back. Having had a birthday last Thursday, a long time friend of mine gave me one of the best things I've ever wanted. It was just sitting in his attic as he bought a 50D.

It's a original Canon Digital Rebel (300D) with the Canon kit lens and also a Tamron zoom lens 50-300mm and after getting some new batteries for it, this camera works like a charm. Using my iPad as the instruction manual (PDF file), I'm slowly getting a grip on the advantages of this old camera.

I just had a question about lenses and by all practical means I know there is no "ideal" lens for all situations (learned that quickly between the kit lens and the Tamron)

I am still looking for what might be a good compromise for everyday photos when not heading out onto the trail looking for a good photo, but a lens that is just fine for a road trip with friends etc., along with the occasional scenic shot. :confused:

Thinking about this, I'd like to stick to around $500 or so if I could. I am insanely thankful that I got a head start with a great camera and decent glass to go with it but here's the hard part.

My last SLR camera was a completely manual Canon AE-1 35mm. It helped with exposures and that was it, sadly, I have been using my quick Point & Shoot for so long, I've nearly forgotten almost everything (mainly the acronyms and such) Still, I've gotten some good photos with practice, but in the end, I don't know what kind of lens to look for.

Should I rough it with the Canon kit lens? Or should I spend some coin on getting into something I once loved doing so much.