Activity Monitor in Mavericks: Right-click menu removed?

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by theseawolfe, Oct 22, 2013.

  1. theseawolfe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #1
    I just installed Mavericks; definitely enjoying it!

    In the newly redesigned Activity Monitor it seems I no longer get a right-click menu when right-clicking the processes.

    Was this removed? or is a bug only on my machine?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. odin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
  3. mfram macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    #3
    Try selecting the process. I think there's either a menu item (App's menubar) or a little icon on the window you can touch to get the other information. That's from memory, I don't have my Mac in front of me right now.
     
  4. poorcody macrumors 6502

    poorcody

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    #4
    Did anyone else notice the app icon no longer will show a memory map? I used to keep that sitting in my dock all the time. No you only can show CPU, Network, or Disk Access. :(
     
  5. Alexsb1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #5
    Agreed. I'm not really sure what to make of the new icons for disk activity or network usage. I loved having that pie chart.
     
  6. MacFan26 macrumors 65816

    MacFan26

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    #6
    I relied on that pie chart every day :( Why would they remove something so useful...

    What is the "memory pressure" supposed to mean in this image anyway? My used memory is completely full.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. chksmithcis macrumors newbie

    chksmithcis

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #7
    I miss the pie chart too. Oh yeah, that 'memory used' = 'physical memory' may fix itself after a few reboots. After a few boots since applying 10.9, the memory used and Physical memory is now matching 'top' from the command line.
     
  8. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #8
    Memory is managed in a completely different way in Mavx. As a result, most of your RAM is used most of the time, whatever you're doing. So a chart showing you your RAM usage would be meaningless and pointless.

    You don't need to manage your RAM usage for the OS. The OS will manage the RAM usage for you.
     
  9. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #9
    I, too thought 'where's the pie chart?', but after giving this a read and realising that Mavericks manages RAM in a different (and arguably better) way you understand why it would be pointless to have the chart - it would almost always be using all your RAM.

    http://arstechnica.com/apple/2013/10/os-x-10-9/17/#compressed-memory

    I can also understand from reading it why Apple still ships machines with only 4GB RAM in them, to the point they introduced a 4GB option on the 13inch Retina MBP the other day..
     
  10. MacFan26 macrumors 65816

    MacFan26

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    #10

    Great article, thanks for sharing! In my panic of noticing the chart being gone, I had forgotten about these major memory enhancements. Now I'm looking forward to seeing if or how much it changes my usage. I'm sure I'll eventually not miss the pie chart :)
     
  11. w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    If you seriously need some sort of pie chart there are other apps like 'iStat menus' which can do pretty much the exact same thing. You could also use 'geektool' with a script that displays mem usage. Although as others have already stated monitoring your memory in Mavericks is somewhat pointless as most of the time it's going to be at or near 90-100% used.
     

Share This Page