Adélie Linux for PowerPC

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Dronecatcher, May 7, 2018.

  1. Dronecatcher macrumors 68030

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #1
    Has anyone tried this? Made specifically for PPC, however, I tried it on my 17" DLSD and G5 iMac and it borked on boot - made my DLSD hard crash - inoperable until a few PRAM resets :/

    https://adelielinux.org/info.html
     
  2. AphoticD, May 7, 2018
    Last edited: May 7, 2018

    AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    IMG_2906.jpg

    Booting from the Full Alpha6 ppc CD on my iBook G3 500. So far so good.

    Something very cool, which I haven't seen before - the sleep light is programmed to flash on drive activity.
     
  3. dbdjre0143 macrumors regular

    dbdjre0143

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Location:
    West Virginia
    #3
    Oh neat! Their list of supported hardware is a bit lacking in detail. Listing the CPUs is great but would be nice to know exactly which machines they're testing this on. I'll download it and give it a shot on my iBook G4. :)
     
  4. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    The help URL (http://help.adelielinux.org) listed on the MOTD doesn't appear to work, so I went onto their IRC channel to ask and was directed toward their wiki for manual installation:
    https://wiki.adelielinux.org/wiki/HOWTO:Manually_install_Adélie_Linux#Installing_the_base_system

    It was mostly a matter of stepping through it.

    For disk layout, I created a 100MB HFS bootstrap partition for GRUB2 (type: Apple_Bootstrap), then a 1.8GB ext4 partition for the Linux system. I was advised that a swapfile should be configured if needed instead of a separate partition.

    I then stepped through the GRUB2 config here:
    https://wiki.adelielinux.org/wiki/Package:GRUB2#PowerPC

    After some trial and error, I discovered I could boot into Grub via Open Firmware with:

    boot hd:11,\grub

    (partition 11 being my bootstrap partition)
     
  5. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    I'm trying to get X11 going. But nothing yet...

    Firstly, added the Xorg packages:
    apk add xorg-server xf86-video-vesa xf86-input-evdev xf86-input-mouse xf86-input-keyboard udev

    Then added the Rage128 XFree86 video driver:
    apk add xf86-video-r128

    Then added the WMs:
    apk add fluxbox
    apk add xfdesktop

    And configured Xorg with
    Xorg -configure

    It fails on X -config /path/to/config

    I've tried a few different Video device options ("VGAAccess", "ForcePCIMode", "AGPMode", "UseFBDev", etc) with varying results. I'll keep playing around with it until we get somewhere.

    The distro is surprisingly light and the package manager (apk) is very fast. It would be nice to have a working desktop environment.
     
  6. Hughmac macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #6
    That's interesting - I have an iBook G4 1.33 languishing around doing nothing ;)

    I might give it a go sometime.

    Cheers :)

    Hugh
     
  7. vddrnnr, May 8, 2018
    Last edited: May 8, 2018

    vddrnnr macrumors member

    vddrnnr

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #7
    Hi AphoticD,

    I got it running on a VM with a desktop.
    After your steps you have to install

    sddm
    sddm-xdm

    After this create the following file /etc/init.d/xdm
    Put the following text on it

    #!/sbin/openrc-run

    depends() {
    needs localmount
    }

    description="X Display Manager"
    command="/usr/bin/sddm"
    command_args="${xdm_opts}"
    pidfile="/var/run/sddm.pid"

    # uses the openrc templates for start()/stop()


    then do

    rc-update add xdm default

    and finally reboot

    Best regards,
    voidRunner
     
  8. Lastic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Location:
    North of the HellHole
    #8
    Gentoo and SUSE also use the sleep light as a drive-activity indicator, on other Linuxes you can turn it on by writing to the device
    --- Post Merged, May 8, 2018 ---
    Looks interesting, will take a break from my current Atari 130XE fetish and have a go on it also.

    Any interesting current software availability, Firefox ?
     
  9. vddrnnr macrumors member

    vddrnnr

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #9
    Hi Lastic,

    For x86 and ppc ( not ppc64 ) you have firefox 52 esr.
    From the tests i did with vmware ( 1 cpu, 1Gb RAM ) it's very fast.
    The only "desktop" I got running almost perfect is lxqt, but as far as I found
    listing the available packages you have: KDE, XFCE and Fluxbox.
    You also have openbox ( should be possible to use with KDE and Is a requirement for Lxqt ).

    Best regards,
    voidRunner
     
  10. pochopsp macrumors 6502

    pochopsp

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Location:
    Napoli, city of sun and pizza!
    #10
    Firefox 52 esr is a big achievement on 32bit ppc, you're really making me want to install it...
     
  11. vddrnnr macrumors member

    vddrnnr

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #11
    Hi all,

    I'll try and install on a 15" 1.67 G4 and see how it goes.
    Will keep you posted.

    Best regards,
    voidRunner
     
  12. pochopsp macrumors 6502

    pochopsp

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Location:
    Napoli, city of sun and pizza!
    #12
    Guys, no more news about this project? it seemed so interesting
     
  13. CooperBox macrumors 6502a

    CooperBox

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    France - between Ricard & Absinthe
    #13
    I confess to being interested - and excited on first reading Dronecatcher's post. Then after having glanced at the 'How to manually install' link instructions in post #4, I had to have a lie-down to partially recover from the resulting trauma....o_O
    Even the initial comment about Horizon, 'Before proceeding, please ensure that the Horizon installation system will not meet your needs', started the headbanger. Is there en error there, a double negative that I had difficulty comprehending? Or was I just having a very bad hair day? :p
     
  14. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    The manual install was like taking inner city directions from the GPS lady. I got there in the end but just don’t ask me what route I took... o_O

    I lost interest on my particular Mac when I couldn’t get X11 to initiate on the ATI Mobility Rage 128 in my 500Mhz iceBook. I was planning on trying a different G3 iBook, which is the 700Mhz 12-incher with the Mobility Radeon (7000), but then that machine died for a second time. Two failed logic boards in two months seemed like a sign to stop trying to make it work. It just wants to retire. :apple:
     
  15. awilfox macrumors newbie

    awilfox

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #15
    I'm sure I had a MacRumors account at some point when I was doing 10.5 modding (specifically trying to reverse-engineer CG to make Classic work - fun times), but I don't think I even have access to that email any more for a password reset. I may or may not be the lead fox behind Adélie.

    Ouch! We don't have a DLSD to test on, I assume that's the Radeon 9700 being fickle. Heard some reports of that around Gentoo land but never was able to confirm.

    The iMac G5 should work just fine; that's my bedroom PC, running Adélie.

    Nice one, that's the same laptop I use for G3 testing!

    Our hardware compatibility list is on our wiki; that link should probably be a lot more prominent. Sorry for the confusion.

    Yes, none of us can manage to get the Rage128 working on PowerPC either. Supposedly there is a new version but it doesn't build properly in my experience. It works okay on my Compaq Armada e500, so I know the code should be right. I don't know if it's something specific to the iBook chipset, or if it's an endian issue, or if it has simply bitrotted away. Using the fbdev driver (xf86-video-fbdev) allows you to get a working DE, though 3D acceleration is software-only, which is bad enough on modern PPC...

    That's available for ppc64 now as well and in fact that's what I'm typing this on right now ;)

    The manual install is quite a challenge, yeah. It's… I'm really hoping to land some proper installer software in beta1. One of our developers is writing one, but keeps getting hung up on the partitioning part. She had quite a shock when she looked at the state of APM supported partitioning software; we may end up having to rewrite large parts of mac-fdisk :/
     
  16. Loki.Mephisto macrumors 6502

    Loki.Mephisto

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Germany / Austria - Mozart, no Kangaroos!
    #16
    So - how did it go? Any success?
     
  17. vddrnnr macrumors member

    vddrnnr

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #17
    Hi all,

    Finally had some time to work on it ( using beta 1 )
    Well it's alive :)
    Sort of....
    I'm having a few problems:

    - getting sddm/xdm working on boot ( doing startx after boot works, I'm using lxqt )
    - getting sound working ( it's there but says only headphones and I get no sound )
    - hardware sensors not detected
    - radeon acceleraion not working ( everything seems to be done in software )

    Everything else is working.
    I'm typing this message with it.

    Best regards,
    voidRunner
     
  18. vddrnnr macrumors member

    vddrnnr

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #18
    Hi all,

    Small update. Now using icewm instead of openbox ( much better ).

    Best regards,
    voidRunner

    upload_2018-9-25_15-30-8.png
     

Share This Page