Adding a line to get an Upgrade ?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by macman4291, Sep 16, 2013.

  1. macman4291 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    #1
    Thinking about adding a line to our family plan to get another phone eligible for an upgrade....has anyone else done this and is it pretty straightforward
     
  2. nostresshere macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #2
    This question continues to get asked, over and over and over.

    Yes, you can do this. Then put a DUMB phone on the new line, and pay the monthly charge for as long as the contract runs. The contract is tied to the PHONE NUMBER and not the phone itself.
     
  3. yungskeeme macrumors regular

    yungskeeme

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    #3
    Ive done it. I bricked one of my phones about 5 months ago and opened a new line. I suspended the line so I just pay $10 for the line. No dummy phone on it. I have a S4 and I hate it. Will probably get another line to get the 5s and do the same.
     
  4. Iphone5preorder macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #4
    Wait wait wait. So you guys add a dummy line, and then you pay 10 dollars a month for 24 months? So you spend 200 on a new phone with a two year commitment AND you pay 240 over two years for the dummy line?

    Edit: plus activation fee 36ish? 276 ish
     
  5. veedubshafer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #5
    Yup, $10 a month for the dummy line. $200 for the phone. Sell the phone on eBay after a year of use for $500. Then your original line is due for upgrade and you can do it all over again.
     
  6. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #6
    It's the price they pay to have the latest and greatest. And it's 240 plus tax for the dummy line.
     
  7. Mdifilm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #7
    I have a dummy line that is no longer on contract so I called and cancel the line AT&T asked me to keep the line free of charge for life as long as I keep the number. So I did. I think I will use it to upgrade lol
     
  8. veedubshafer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #8
    OMG, are you serious?
     
  9. Iphone5preorder macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #9
    You won't get 500 dollars for a 16GB iPhone that's a year old.. But either way, its not a bad plan I guess. The costs basically balance out.

    Luckily for me, I have a brother on my account who hates smartphones so he has an old Ericsson phone and plans to never use the upgrade so I always switch between his line and mine for the upgrade :)
     
  10. thomamon macrumors 65816

    thomamon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Location:
    Flemington, NJ
    #10
    I thought you could only suspend a line for 6 months?
     
  11. veedubshafer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #11
    I've seen numerous used iPhone 5 16gb white AT&T go for $475-$525 on eBay in the past week. Once eBay takes 10% though you're at $425-$475 though. Luckily my iPhone 5 was only replaced a month ago so it's basically new. I should get at least $425.
     
  12. yungskeeme macrumors regular

    yungskeeme

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    #12
    They told me I can keep it suspended until the contract is over
     
  13. karmatourer macrumors 6502a

    karmatourer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    In my house
    #13
    You DO NOT NEED ANY PHONE for the dummy line.Save your money.I added a line last year for $10 a month to get the 5.Now I can upgrade every year.



    ----------

    That's what I just did-nearly 1 year after adding a line for that sole purpose-to upgrade every year with little or no $$ out of pocket after a year.



    ----------

    You are correct for once.I got $425 2 months ago for a 16g black.Cost covered.

     
  14. EM2013 macrumors 65816

    EM2013

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #14
    Can't believe the things people do to get a new iphone smh
     
  15. curtoise macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #15
    I do not think there is a way to add a dummy $10 line Ina mobile share plan, they want you to add data too.
     
  16. veedubshafer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #16
    We never EVER pay the upgrade/activation fee. When the bill comes we call and complain that we have never paid it before and they remove it from the bill.
     
  17. Tortri, Sep 16, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2013

    Tortri macrumors 6502a

    Tortri

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
  18. Slicktype macrumors 6502

    Slicktype

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #18
    Sinuously ?. That's amazing !. What Fo you say exactly ???.i'mgetting two 5s this Friday and would live yo not pay the upgrade and activation fees .....
    Thanks
     
  19. veedubshafer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #19
    That is really all we say.... We tell them we have never paid the upgrade fee, we are long time customers and that we pay our bill every month. They always take it off.
     
  20. karmatourer macrumors 6502a

    karmatourer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    In my house
    #20
    All I know is I added a dummy line w/o a phone for $10 when the 5 was released.I have been eligible for an upgrade since May and next year in April on the other line.

     
  21. curtoise macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #21
    Can you tell us the trick? they do not want to do it at all now.
     
  22. BenGieCruz macrumors member

    BenGieCruz

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #22
    That's how i do it.

    I have an extra line and I switch every year.

    It sure beats NEXT.:cool:
     
  23. karmatourer macrumors 6502a

    karmatourer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    In my house
    #23
    Simple.AT&T rep suggested it last year b/c I wanted to upgrade and it's a done deal.Many have done it w/o an issue.No magic required.Upgrade every year for $199.Sell the current phone for $400+ and pay for the newest model.

     
  24. crazyskater52 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #24
    Don't you have to pay a data plan and taxes on the phone? Doesn't this come out much more expensive? Or is something special done so that it's just $10 a month extra?
     
  25. Sledpusher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    #25
    So I have two iPhone 5's on a Verizon Family Share plan with 4 GB's of data. I currently have a year left on each contract for the iPhone 5's but I want to buy two new 5S's at the end of the week (yes I will be standing in line against my better judgement). My question is can I add two new lines for the 5S's to my account then suspend the other two lines on the iPhone 5's and carry them for $10 a month until the end of the contract? I would sell the iPhone 5's immediately but pay the $10 each per phone so long as Verizon allows this. This is what I used to do constantly on AT&T but this is my first year with Verizon's service which I went to for the screaming fast LTE service (which I love).
     

Share This Page