Adding a line to Sprint?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by paulie6978, Sep 12, 2012.

  1. paulie6978 macrumors 6502a

    paulie6978

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #1
    Can this be done on the Sprint website?

    I couldnt find anything on it...... Has anyone ever done this?

    Im not eligible for an upgrade for 290 days :mad:
     
  2. feeth macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    #2
    I did this last year at the apple store for the 4s. Depending on your plan, it could cost you $30 a month to add a line. Sorry dont know how to do it online.
     
  3. sk1wbw Suspended

    sk1wbw

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Location:
    Williamsburg, Virginia
    #3
    $30 a month for .5 meg download speeds. You can't beat that.
     
  4. wongulous macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    #4
    Adding a line is just an option when checking out with apple. No big deal. Unless you already have 5 lines. But 24 months x $30 ($19.99 add a line and $10 premium data) is $720...

    But if you plan to cancel your 290-days line (change to the new line number when that's up), that would be only 9.6 months until eligible but 13.6 months until you can cancel it, or about $420...

    Or, you could add a line and cancel your existing and buy out of the contract (pay ETF), which is either a flat $250 or $20 per month remaining (~$260) if you have the new prorated ETF...

    Either of the latter two options save money over paying full retail, but require changing your number. The first option keeps your number but costs more or equal to paying retail, but you would get an additional phone as opposed to getting nothing for buying retail.
     
  5. paulie6978 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    paulie6978

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #5
    wow so it costs 30 bucks a month with them to add a line plus the additonal fees?

    i thought it was like 10 bucks and i kept my original plan
    im a little confused.
     
  6. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #6
    hey its .6! ;)

    their LTE isnt bad if you have it in your city.
    Mine will have it by the end of 2012 wahoo.
    So ill deal with shittttty downloads for 3 monts (or less)


    My brother has LTE in san antonio and has been getting 15-20 mbps..
     
  7. paulie6978 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    paulie6978

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #7
    i was thinking about leaving but feel the same way. LTE is coming soon to my area as well
     
  8. jelew1985 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #8
    Yes this can be done from the Sprint site ... just log into your account and on the right hand side there is an option to add a new phone to share minutes. From there you can proceed in adding a new line to your shared plan.
     
  9. wongulous macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    #9
    Are you already on a share plan? The single line plans can't be shared. The share plans include 2 lines and additional lines are 19.99, plus each line pays $10 for premium data devices. So $30. But if you have only one line, adding a new line would mean changing to the share plans, which start at 129.99, again. Plus 10 per smartphone for premium data.
     
  10. paulie6978 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    paulie6978

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #10
    no im on my own plan....... there is an option to add a line though i see
     
  11. paulie6978 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    paulie6978

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #11
    im going to wait until release to see what the prices will be.......
     
  12. sk1wbw Suspended

    sk1wbw

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Location:
    Williamsburg, Virginia
    #12
    I'm in Jacksonville NC and no word on LTE as of yet. I highly doubt I can deal with it until it comes. By the time my wife and I can afford to switch to Verizon in a month or so and there's no word from Sprint, they're history. Sprint's 3G renders my iPhone useless unless I'm on a wifi network somewhere.
     
  13. paulie6978 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    paulie6978

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #13
    my 3G has been extremely hit or miss..., where i work it sucks bad.... i hate the little O in the top left corner... slows up so much..... Ive had countless call drops, fading in and out.... really sucks

    i do like the unlimited data.....

    the cost for verizon is alot but i hear they have great service :rolleyes:
     
  14. paulie6978 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    paulie6978

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #14
    Would it be possible to add a phone with a new plan and then deactivate my plan and pay something on that line per month?

    if i can remember people used to do this with ATT and paid 10 bucks a month to suspend their old original plan/line
     

Share This Page