Advice needed for Best 4k Monitor for Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by MacProFCP, Jan 18, 2015.

  1. MacProFCP, Jan 18, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2015

    MacProFCP macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    I have a 2013 Mac Pro and currently use a pair of HP zr27w monitors. My issue is that when viewing very large PDFs (blue prints), I have to zoom in to see the details and even with 32gb of ram, it can take a bit to refocus.

    I am looking to upgrade to 4k displays so I can get more depth without having to zoom in, and thus see more detail.

    I have been looking at the LG 34UM95-P which is right in my price range, but I am concerned that when I double pixelate, I will have less "screen estate" than I do now with my current 27".

    Additionally, I need something with solid colors when I'm editing.

    Don't want to dump $2k for nothing. Thoughts, recommendations, etc.

    Please help.
     
  2. KlausE, Jan 18, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2015

    KlausE macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #2
    I just got the Benq BL3201PT:
    http://benq.com/product/monitor/bl3201pt/

    Got it for 900 Euros - loving it so far. Running it at the native UHD resolution, not in an HiDPI mode. I don't have the feeling anything is too small.
     
  3. JDHiro macrumors regular

    JDHiro

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    I posted my thoughts on the U32D970Q in this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1811004

    I ended up keeping this display and I've been really happy with it. It looks best to me changing to color settings to AdobeRGB and bumping up the brightness a bit.

    There isn't much to worry about regarding real-estate IMO. I run at "looks like 2560x1440" for the best text, but "looks like 3008x1692" is perfectly functional as well if you really need the extra space.
     
  4. megalaser macrumors 6502

    megalaser

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #4
    I have a pair of the Samsung 4K 29 inch ones and they are very good but if I were buying now, I would go for the BENQ 32 inch ones.
     
  5. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #5
    These are starting to show up now in the States, too. (BL3201PH here). Just started showing "in stock" on Amazon today. I ordered one, should arrive on Monday.
     
  6. AppleDroid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #6
    What setup do you have? My 2013 with d300 had issues with flickering with two units which I unfortunaty returned.
     
  7. ilikewhey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
  8. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #8
    Dell P2415Q or P2715Q are probably the best 4K displays available in terms of great specs, no issues, and price. There's a thread here on this forum with reviews and reports from owners.
     
  9. mintakax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    #9
    I also have this display and really like it. One heads up is you must have Yosemite to use the UHD resolution w/o artifacts. I have had 0 issues with the display since I upgraded to Yosemite.
    I have nMP with D700s.
     
  10. AppleDroid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #10
    I really wonder if my D300's are faulty.. running 10.10.1 with the Samsung 4K my screen had flickering/artifacts constantly so I returned it. Or maybe the D300's just don't play well with the Samsung.
     
  11. R3k macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Sep 7, 2011
    #11
    I too run the new Samsung 4k screens. 2 of them with a Mac Pro D500 set up, Yosemite. They run at 60hz fine.

    Performance is good normally with both of them scaled at 2560 x 1440, a little bit of slowdown here or there, but Yosemite seems to jerk here or there no matter where I run it.

    When restarting the Mac I often have to play with the monitor menu to get them to register that they're plugged in, but this isn't bothering me as I rerely restart and don't sleep the system.

    The big problem I'm having which will ultimately have me returning them is the graphical performance while running Logic Pro and Logic X. It's laggy and slow to respond. Running video slows things down further, and running a QuickTime expended to cover even 3/4 of one screen makes the movie super jerky.

    My 2010 Mac pro running 2 x 24" 1920 x 1280 screens and a 1280" TV runs logic UI's smoother than this nMP with 2 x 4k displays, and about comparable when I'm running just 1 of them.

    Nothing I've tried fixes this, though it does perform better scaled to 1920, but I dont wanna run a low resolution like that.

    Still, these monitors look nice, a little washed out perhaps, but that may be fixed with calibration. Still, the price is right and the performance may be a non issue for you depending on what you use the system for.. Is a good buy for some people imo.
     
  12. AppleDroid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #12
    Does it look anything like this? http://youtu.be/Rj8QwgzogqQ

    That is what mine looked like running a single Samsung at 4K.
     
  13. R3k macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Sep 7, 2011
    #13
    No, I don't have that issue fortunately. Mine is more like the graphics chip doesn't have enough juice to run the screen, like running a new OS on an old computer.
     
  14. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #14
    Are you using HDMI at 30Hz or are you using DisplayPort at 60Hz with the BL3201? I can't get my Mac Pro to recognize the display at all using DisplayPort.
     
  15. JDHiro macrumors regular

    JDHiro

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #15
    Yeah, I'm running a Late 2013 15" rMBP Yosemite 10.10.2 via DisplayPort. I don't have any experience with the nMP or D300s.
     
  16. MacProFCP thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #16
    Ended up getting two of the P2715Qs and they are great. Colors are amazing, they come with display port to thunderbolt cable and they quality is amazing. They ran me about $622 each on Amazon.

    My only issue is that sometimes during wake, all my windows are on my primary monitor, as if it does not recognize both monitors at the same time. I think I got that fixed by putting each display on its on graphics card and reseting the PMU.

    VERY SATISFIED with these. I love that in system preferences it gives you 5 options for display.

    http://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00PC9HFO8/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
     

Share This Page