Advice on a monitor for a Mac Pro / new 4870 + 24" LED

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Xer0dIn, Feb 21, 2009.

1. Xer0dIn macrumors member

Hello all, I have a question regarding my early '08 mac pro (8 core x 2.8 Ghz + 8800 GT). I'm a programmer and do not do photo video editing. I use the horse power only for multi-threaded app development and testing purposes. I also play a fair bit of windows games. I have a 22" dell E228WFP and I'm looking to upgrade to a 24" display for gaming(don't need it for programming :)). I'm wondering if I should wait for Apple to upgrade the mac pros and buy whatever graphics card comes out and install in my mac and buy the 24" LED Cinema Display or get another brand monitor. The only problem is do you guys think that the LED display is good for gaming with a 16ms response time (seems high), and it seems that if I want to use that monitor down the road with any other computer I will not be able to because of the Display Port (unless that computer's graphics card has display port and if Apple actually releases a mac pro with display port). Should I just buy another brand 24" other than Apple? (what do you guys recommend other than Apple for gaming in windows) Should I wait and see what apple will do with graphics? I saw they've pulled the 20" cinema display. Just curious what other mac pro gamers are planning on doing/have for displays.

2. galstaph macrumors 6502a

galstaph

well, dell does make fine displays with good panels.. much cheaper than apple and compatible with anything dvi or vga
    just a thought - do you really want to be stuck with a mini display port?
    I'm kinda iffy about it myself

3. Xer0dIn thread starter macrumors member

I'm starting to feel the same way about display port. Iffy. I haven't seen any graphics cards with display port. Although I haven't been looking. I'm sure there are one or two cards out there with it but not many.

4. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

Digital Skunk