Advice on life direction in early 20's. Some advice would be greatly appreciated.

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by placidity44, Oct 6, 2015.

1. placidity44 macrumors 6502

placidity44

I graduated high school and immediately went to college. I worked extremely hard my first semester and wasn't interested or learning anything. I was a computer science major but I was taking religious studies, economics, art, etc. I really struggled socially as I never left my house in high school just focusing on building computers, jailbreaking iOS devices. My idea of a good time was going to a best buy playing with various types of technology for hours on end.

My interest in technology became an obsession, as did my love for NFL football. I left college after my first semester because I didn't socialize with anybody and I wasn't learning anything. I always knew I wanted to do something with technology I just didn't know what. I had it pounded in my head during high school that people who don't go to college are failures which made me proceed to go back the following summer only online. I stopped again because I wasn't learning a thing. Lucky for me I have under 4k in student loan debt.

Here I am a year and a half later and i'm just trying to find my way. I read a good 13 hours a day about technology, whether or not god exists, origins of the universe, theoretical ideas such as multiverses, and sports. I feel extremely envious over people who socialize, party, etc and excel in school without their mind wandering on and on and on about things. I'm on iTunes U reading about topics that interest me to a point of obsession trying to figure out what it is I want to do when it comes to technology.