Advice on running Macbook Air and Mac with company BYOD Policy

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rmcnaught413, May 23, 2018.

  1. rmcnaught413 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    Recently converted from PC to Mac about 6 months ago. Just started a new job and have a Macbook Air as the company laptop - huge security restrictions when I'm on VPN - lots of websites blocked, and the computer is a bit slower than what I'm used to, etc.

    I asked about the BYOD policy and if I could connect a Mac desktop to the company network, but this is not supported.

    My hope was to use the Macbook Air when I was travelling and a Mac desktop when at home. I still want to do this, but would need some good way of being able to remote desktop into the Macbook and use things like copy/paste without latency on display etc.

    Is anyone out there doing something like this which allows them to use a Mac in this way? Any tips/experience appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. kohlson macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #2
    I assume you have a good reason for not using the "work MBA" when doing work, even from home? I'm sure that's the intent of your company's security policy and protocols. If the issue is a larger screen, then perhaps your iMac can function as such - the recent models support this.
    My previous company was pretty strict - both policy and enforcement - about this. If you're doing work, then you use a work computer.
     
  3. jksu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    #3
    could you just apply the vpn settings to your desktop and use it as needed for work?

    that’s what i do
     
  4. rmcnaught413 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #4
    Yes, I have external screens attached to it, one with HDMI cable to Mac connector, and one with an HDMI to USB, which doesn't work perfectly - they never seem to, so that helps...it's just a bit slower than what I'm used to and has a small hard drive.
    --- Post Merged, May 23, 2018 ---
    I haven't tried that yet - my IT said it wasn't supported, but don't know if that's just policy or there is something in the VPN authentication which checks the computer name of the client. They use Pulse Secure with Google Authenticator.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Supported or permitted?

    They may have settings/software that will lock out devices it doesn't recognize, but I guess the only way to see is try it.

    If they're using a specific VPN application, you may need the settings/passwords and IT may not be willing to divulge those.
     

Share This Page