Advise on Buying a Monitor for My Needs

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Xtreambar, Oct 22, 2007.

1. Xtreambar macrumors regular

So, I am a recent college grad taking a year off before grad school. When I get to grad school, I plan to use my monitor as the center of my work/entertainment hub (time to have fun in grad school? *chuckles*) so getting the right monitor is very important to me!

Widescreen and flatscreen are obivious specs. I will not buy a TV, so maxing the screen space is very important. The inputs will be for my Core Duo MB and my PS3. Hopefully, the monitor has rotational capabilities for writing papers. This is not necessary, but height adjustable is certainly important. I don't need many inputs, just some hidef input that both systems support. I don't need extra usb and card reader inputs either.

As I am not going to grad school for another 10-ish months, I don't need the monitor immediately. I ask now, rather than later, because I know that certain times of the year are better than others to buy electronics. When would those times be? Or do prices drop/products improve rapidly enough that there will be major differences in monitors between now and then. In other words, if I have until next July-August to buy a monitor, until when would be the best time to wait?

Thanks a bunch in advance! :confused:

2. mavherzog macrumors 6502

Multiple inputs, maximized size for a single-link DVI computer (MacBook), adjustable height, rotation . . .

This isn't even debatable. You want the Dell 24" widescreen LCD.

3. Xtreambar thread starter macrumors regular