Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

captaintiger

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 12, 2009
Hi guys,

i have been reading this forum for past 1 month and I am extremely impressed by the amount of information available here.

this is my FIRST ever post here.

I have been using MAC laptops for 9 years now. Mt first one was a powerbook G4 in 2000-01 , which I replaced with a NEW powerbook G4 in 2004.

This book from 2004 has following characterstics

Powerbook G4 Titanium, 15"
processor : 1.25 GHz power Pc g4
memory : 1.25 GB DDR SDRAM
Hard disc : 80 GB

Now the interesting thing is that this laptop is working brilliantly even after 5 years. Though has become quiet dirty etc.

The negatives : I do feel it becomes slow when too many windows open
I am not able to burn DVDs in it, which i want to do
I do hate the spinning wheel which comes time to time.

I had installed a new battery in 2008 but it never performed well. I had bought a new power cord for it as the old one was giving problems. expenditure about 300$ or so. I also upgraded the memory from 500 MB to 1.25 Gb last year.

Now,

i am perplexed on my next course of action. I am itching to buy a new macbook pro. The main things I do is watch DVds, surf internet several hours a day and do official work on Mac office. No video editing or photo editing. I am a world traveler, traveling constantly. Money is no issue.

I am longing for a v v fast computer. I dislike the spinning wheel. I dislike the the delays when surfing the internet. I dislike the time itunes takes to open up etc

What I should do with my old laptop? if I sell it, what should be the correct price for it??