Airport Extreme - What is the best way to hook up more wired Ethernet ports

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Rocs, May 30, 2011.

  1. Rocs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #1
    I have an Airport Extreme and have found a need for more that the 3 little wired ports on the back. What is the best way to get additional wired ports a switch or a router or what? I will have 3 computers hard wired and another device that controls lights in the house over the wireless network.. Also either or does apple sell one that works well with the Airport Express?

    Thanks Roc
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    A switch. Apple does not sell one. They are all pretty much plug and forget.
     
  3. Rocs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #3
    Thanks-

    Two more newb add on questions.

    - if I have an unused wireless router is that better or worse to connect?

    - also do either switch or router added for more ports degrade the speeds?

    Thanks again..
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    No difference really between switch and router that's in client mode. No perf degradation as each connection from the Extreme is independent.
     
  5. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #5
    The only thing to check is make sure your old router's wired ports are gigabit ethernet instead of 10/100....if they are 10/100 it'll slow communications inside your net to/from whatever is hooked to the old router (now used as switch).
     

Share This Page