All 15'' Late 08 MBP's only support 6GB RAM. Is this a SW or HW limitation?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vader1990, Jul 5, 2009.

  1. vader1990 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    Ok, I know all the Late 2008 MBP models--2.4Ghz, 2.53Ghz, and 2.8Ghz--only support 6Gb of DDR3 RAM. Is this a software limitation or a hardware limitation?

    Does anyone know a definitive answer to this? Will Snow Leopard be able to address the full 8GB in a 2.4GHz model?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. KevinRightWing macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Houston TX
    #2
    Man, I need to know this too. I am on the fence on grabbing the 2.4ghz refurb mbp for $1,349. I wouldnt think I would need the additional 2gb ram necessarily, but would be nice to know.
     
  3. Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    Only Apple knows, we can only guess. My guess, limited hardware, is as good as the next one.
     
  4. DAMNiatx macrumors 6502a

    DAMNiatx

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
  5. Vulcan macrumors 65816

    Vulcan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #5
    My guess is hardware. The new MBP's can accept up to 8GB of RAM.
     
  6. KevinRightWing macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Houston TX
    #6
  7. Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    Old model vs new model. Two different computers.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. iCantwait macrumors 65816

    iCantwait

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    is it just me or does the old mbp have 3 usb ports?
     
  9. fpar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
  10. Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #10
    The picture is from the link above and the description is below, not the first ad to have questionable info in it. Call apple and find out what computer this is before purchase.

    Display 15.4-inch (diagonal) LED-backlit glossy widescreen display, 1440-by-900 resolution
    Expansion Three USB 2.0 ports (up to 480 Mbps)
    One FireWire 800 port (up to 800 Mbps)
     
  11. KevinRightWing macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Houston TX
    #11
    Frosties,

    Unless I am reading this wrong, all 2.66ghz models should support 8gb (old or new)

    http://guides.macrumors.com/MacBook_Pro

    So is macrumors wrong or apple's website wrong on the 4gb?
     
  12. Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #12
    I have to pass on that. I have read that there was a chip update on this 2.66 model but what that brought regarding max ram I don't know.
     
  13. sexyfoolxx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #13
    All the original unibody MacBooks would recognize 8 gigs of ram, but once you used over 6 the system became dog slow and also wouldn't release the ram when not in use. It would, however, work just fine utilizing 6 gigs or less of the 8 gigs total. There was a huge thread about this when they came out and members were guessing it was a software limitation not hardware. The same chipsets are being used, only the newer models have a rev b chipset I believe compared to the rev A in the oringinals.
     
  14. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #14
    Nvidia B2 (Nov 08 Revision) vs B3 (March/June 09 Revisions) Chipset is being touted as a possible explanation
     
  15. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #15
    It's for Apple to come out and say but they probably won't. I remember reading somewhere where NVIDIA stated that their chipset did support 8GB RAM (sometime when the unibody was first released) so this would likely be before any sort of revision chips. That doesn't necessarily mean that the first chips could support it, they could be talking generally and this is where the revision chips come in.
     
  16. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #16
    Wrong.

    Wrong also.


    Just like the the new laptops where limited to 1.5Gb/s, the old late 08 unibody machines are also software limited to only 4GB of memory.

    Apple only has to release a software EFI 1.8 update to allow unibody users to access 8GB.

    Also, the whole B2 and B3 has nothing to do with it. Apple released the 17" unibody MacBook Pro in January, using the same chipset (B2) as the late o8 machines. So, that would make no sense saying its the chipset difference.

    Hopefully, Apple will do that with Snow Leopard. Still, I don't think anyone will need 4GB or more for 2 or more years at minimum.
     
  17. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #17
    I think that makes sense. The chipset theory does too but I don't see why Apple would use different chipsets in different models. It would be cheaper to just use the same chipset but block it in the firmware. Obviously there are revisions, but I think those change other things that we don't know but RAM isn't one of them. Only time will tell. Also with the price of 4GB DIMM's, I don't think we'll see anyone rush out to get a pair.
     
  18. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #18
    I think the 17" shipped with B3

    EDIT: I'm sure of it
     
  19. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #20
    Apple was offering an 8 GiB option for the March 2009 MBPs.
     
  20. joelones macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #21
    Just a question, how would one know if one had a March 09 revision macbook pro 15"? I bought my 2.66 15" (Express card slot) MBP not to long ago in June 09, after the new releases. My serial number checks out as a late '08 model? My understanding is that despite the serial number saying otherwise, the 2.66 processor was refreshed as of March of this year.

    I guess there's no way to check if one has a rev. B3 in software alone?
     

Share This Page