Am I gimping my unibody with my version of windows?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by juliancs, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. juliancs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #1
    Hi folks,

    I've ordered a unibody 17", and am looking forward to playing some games. However, I have Windows xp 32 bit. Will the 32-bit part limit performance on games?
    Thanks
     
  2. kasakka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #2
    Most games are still 32-bit so essentially no, but if you have 4GB or more memory, your OS can only see about 3 GB of it. Since a single program on a 32-bit OS can be assigned max 2GB memory it might be a bit slower in some really intensive games.

    You're also missing out on DirectX 10, although it's not really fully utilized in most games at the moment.

    You could always install the Windows 7 beta 64-bit. It's fast, stable and just plain solid.
     
  3. juliancs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #3
    So I should take windows 7 64 over xp 32? It won't take up more RAM to run?
     
  4. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Stick with what you've got unless you have software that requires 64-bit windows or DX10
     
  5. juliancs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #5
    Well that exactly why I'm asking - I don't know if any of the games I play can benefit. With the previous reply saying it was more stable etc, as well as my unibody going to have 4GB. I want it all to be recognised.
     
  6. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #6
    If you want the full 4GB to be recognised it's gonna have to be 64 bit
     
  7. TheSVD macrumors 6502a

    TheSVD

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Location:
    The Jolly Ol' Midlands, England
    #7
    yeah but 32 bit recognises about 3.3GB of it, and that should be fine :)
    i use 32 bit for gaming, and its fine
    with vista you spend more ram on system resources so i think it levels out about the same
    hence, with most common games
    "XP, RAM required: 1GB
    Vista, RAM required: 2GB"
    etcetc.
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    I would get Vista x64 simply for DirectX 10 support
     
  9. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #9
    So why bother asking ? & yes thanks,I'm aware of RAM requirements/resources in both XP & Vista
     
  10. juliancs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #10

    ...I was asking, not him ;)

    I dunno. I've downloaded windows 7 64 bit, and will give that a go. Worst comes to worst I re-install xp. Now I just have to figure out glossy or matt :(
     

Share This Page