Am I reading that right - does the new iMac 27" have a displayport IN?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rurouni, Oct 20, 2009.

  1. rurouni Guest

    #1
    Reading the tech specs on the site, seems to imply that the screen on the 27" will accept a displayport in?

    If so, does this mean that I can finally use the iMac's screen for my HDMI gaming console? Any ideas?
     
  2. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #2
    That doesn't seem like an implication to me.
     
  3. jimthegreek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
  4. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    OMG THIS IS SO AWESOME. These iMac's keep getting better and better, best computer in the world! In my opinion.
     
  5. rurouni thread starter Guest

    #5
    So all I'll need is a HDMI cable to DVI to displayport adapter I guess.

    I wonder how Apple is going to implement source switching on this new 27" imac hmm. Apple remote is probably still the same so perhaps its an autoswitched function.

    Looking forward to learning more soon!
     
  6. superspiffy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #6
    i hear it can't do audio in. how are you gonna game with no audio?
     
  7. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #7
    "On the 27-inch iMac, the same port offers input, too. So you can connect any external source that has DisplayPort output — including a MacBook or MacBook Pro — and use your iMac as a display."

    Doubt they are doing audio.
     
  8. Manzana macrumors 6502a

    Manzana

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #8
    External speakers.

    Now I'm torn between a new mac mini and a 27" imac for htpc. With video in I can connect my cable box to it...
     
  9. katyoshi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #9
    I was thinking the same thing. Since I have the other stuff. But I'm going to give my sister my 24" ACD and bluetooth MM/keyboard and pic up a 27" imac. Especially since you can hook up your MBP!!!
     
  10. StruckANerve macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    #10
    Yes you need 3 pieces of equipment to do what should only require 1. If apple were smart they would have just started adding an HDMI port, but no, they like being a pain in the rear.
     
  11. rnb2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    West Haven, CT, USA
    #11
    HDMI doesn't do 2560 x 1440..............
     
  12. MLAbeau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #12
    Again, they tease and disappoint, no blu-ray

    Since 2006 many of us apple video guys and regular consumers for that matter, have been waiting for a blu-ray mac or a blu-ray drive and software that would compliment it. It's 2009, and freaking Microsoft has blu-ray on its computers. Blu-ray is no longer a "bag of hurt" I'm sick of hearing that. They've made it all possible to watch the quality of 1080p and beyond yet they keep us on regular red laser DVD. I'm very upset
     
  13. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #13
    Now, can it be used as just a monitor, without switching on the computer?
     
  14. katyoshi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #14
    But you could still probably hook it up to HDMI adapter.
     
  15. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #15
    Dual-link HDMI does.
     
  16. katyoshi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #16
    Well whats the point of HDMI on the iMac when you could use a mac mini for a entertainment center? Just asking nicely :)
     
  17. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #17
    So if I hooked up my PS3 or 360 to this, and ran at 1080P, what would it look like? Considering the iMac's resolution is a lot higher.
     
  18. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #18
    It'd look the same as a HDTV.
     
  19. StruckANerve macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    #19
    What form of media outputs at that resolution?
     
  20. StruckANerve macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    #20
    I have been using my Imac as a media center and have not been thrilled with having to need an adapter and an audio cable to hook up to my 50" Samsung.
     
  21. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #21
    HD 4k does. But you'll need to visit a movie theater to see it...
     
  22. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #22
    wow, nice find. now this sounds great. but will hdmi>dvi>displayport really work though?
     
  23. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #23
    No, it won't. Because it is higher resolution. It will either use 1080x1920 pixels in the middle of the screen or (more likely) convert to the higher screen rez. I doubt anybody will know today how this will work since an iMac hasn't had this option before. Considering the specs say this is to use as a 2nd computer screen, the compatibility with DVD/BD/Xbox/PS3/etc is also unknown right now.
     
  24. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #24
    I guess you haven't used an EyeTV product before. On my Dell monitor the image looks the same as my Bravia. Same colour balance, same everything just a higher resolution. Filters are applied to the output image. The picture doesn't suddenly change from being scaled up. Hell if they apply a proper upscaling engine then it'd look better than a HDTV.

    And I think it's 1920x1050.
     
  25. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #25
    LOL!! Some of what you said is physically impossible. IDK what is 1920x1050, but it isn't any normal screen rez.

    Guess you don't understand video conversion. Maybe you should try that on a real screen. Course, I guess it doesn't matter as much on a tiny little thing like a 27" iMac, so you are correct about it on this kind of monitor, I suppose.

    I would love a monitor like that for editting photos, though.
     

Share This Page