Am I seriously the only one who thinks the iPhone 5 is great, but really ugly?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by itisjoey, Sep 17, 2012.

1. itisjoey macrumors newbie

itisjoey

I'm a designer. I'm in love with the appearance of my iPhone 4S. It's simple, clean, elegant, and generally amazing.

When I saw the design of the iPhone 5, I thought that it was pretty awesome. A bigger screen? Awesome! Faster? Awesome! Sign me up.

But then I saw the backplate. What the ****? Was someone drunk? This can't be real, I thought.

But sure enough, it was real, and now it's an actual product...

It's like they put no thought at all into the design of the backplate. The two tone, brushed and glossy, don't make sense at all in size/design. It's not an equal distance from the top and bottom of the camera, it doesn't match the borders of the front of the phone, it's just placed in a really ugly spot right underneath the camera.

Anyone know if these backplates are easily replaced with a better looking one? I love the shape/design of the phone otherwise, but damn this two toned **** needs to be covered up.

2. Surely Guest

Surely

You haven't even seen one live yet. Get a grip.

3. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

You may not be the only one, but you are probably in the minority
    I think it looks pretty good myself

4. Gathomblipoob macrumors 68040

Gathomblipoob

I think the black back looks extremely classy.

5. kas23 macrumors 603

kas23

I think the black is fugly. Looks like a TV remote.

6. ejisfun macrumors regular

I think the black back looks great, but the white one looks hideous. I just don't think the white and silver go together well at all.

7. itisjoey thread starter macrumors newbie

itisjoey

I agree, but wish it was one tone. All glossy or all brushed. To me, this looks like a design concept Microsoft would slap on a tablet or a laptop.

8. Tom2893 macrumors 6502

Tom2893