Am I the only one who can't get Safari Beta to start?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Learjet035, Jun 11, 2007.

  1. Learjet035 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    S. Floriduh
    #1
    I just downloaded and installed the new Beta, restarted, and went to open and it closes right away. "Safari quit unexpectedly"
    I tried un installing, then reinstalling with Safari closed, still the same.
    Deleted .plst for Safari Nada???
    Any ideas? Thanks
     
  2. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #2
    Do you have any Safari plug-ins like PithHelmet or SafariStand installed? I also read ShapeShifter is causing some problems.
     
  3. Learjet035 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    S. Floriduh
    #3
    I don't think I have anything installed. None of those ring a bell 4 sure.
     
  4. Aniej macrumors 68000

    Aniej

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #4
    i duno what to tell you, i just went to the site and hit download and it worked perfectly. normally i am the one this happens to so not sure what's up. were you able to resolve it? if not let us know and we can try and come up with something. in the future, i am not sure deleting plists needs to be your primary method of attack at a download that will not open.
     
  5. Foxglove9 macrumors 65816

    Foxglove9

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #5
    I'm running on an old G5. When I first ran Safari 3.0 I got the beachball for about 5 minutes then I finally forced quit, then restarted the app. It loaded my homepage after about 15 seconds. Now it runs fine. Just needed to be broken in maybe.

    As for your troubles. Try clearing all the preference files and take out the plug-ins if you have any installed.
     
  6. Learjet035 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    S. Floriduh
    #6
    Still stuck. I've tried repair disk/ restarting/ re installing, nothing. =(
    Not sure what else to do. I'm using FireFox for now, but I may uninstall here pretty soon.
     
  7. Aniej macrumors 68000

    Aniej

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #7
    and you are getting it to download, but just not run the install or you installed, but can't run the app?
     
  8. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #8
    I had some trouble installing in on my Mac...it said my Mac Mini didn't meant system requirements(which aren't listed, only to run OS X or XP/Vista)

    I played around with it a little, and got it to work. Was easier to install on XP for me :p
     
  9. Learjet035 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    S. Floriduh
    #9
    Yup, downloaded fine, installed fine, rebooted fine, then quits everytime I open it. Weird Huh?
    I'm on a 3 month old MBP with no major changes to it.
     
  10. Siderits macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    California
  11. DinnyHoon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #11
    Installed it with SafariStand still there, and it wouldn't last 10 seconds. I immediately uninstalled it, removed my plugins and reinstalled it. This time, it wouldn't even load - just 'quit unexpectedly' on launch.

    Back to Safari 2 now, blocking out my memories of that beta.
     
  12. craigp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #12
    Don't give up just yet!

    Dudes,

    Don't give up on Safari just yet. Out of the two people in our office that tried it, it crashed for them both on start up. In both cases, however, it was something in the ~/Library/InputManagers folder: SpeedDownload. Move that out, and Safari 3.0 worked!

    Come on people, stick with it. Its beta after all.
     
  13. annk Administrator

    annk

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #14
    It works fine on my Mac, but on my PC at work it crashes immediately. I'm running a HP Compaq dc7100, Pentium 4, CPU 3.2 GHZ, 3.19 GHz, 504 MB RAM with XP Professional 2002, Service pack 2.

    Anyone else have this problem on XP??
     
  14. Siderits macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #15
    Worked perfect, Ty Dude :cool:
     
  15. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
  16. Nym macrumors 6502a

    Nym

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #17
    It doesn't work with Inquisitor as far as I can tell so... a big "NO GO" for me :D

    I'll wait 'til Leopard...
     
  17. Learjet035 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    S. Floriduh
    #18
    Nope, not giving up.
    I downloaded the updated Speed download but it's still not working.
    I can't reinstall because for some reason now when I goto the Safari Beta download page (in firefox) I can't download it, and I deleted the old beta file I had downloaded before (which also had the uninstall) (dumb I know)

    Help!!!
     
  18. kasei macrumors 6502a

    kasei

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #19
    I had to uninstall it. I ran into problems with sites using Flash and it was running at a snail's pace. I am back to Safari 2.0. I'll wait for Apple to get rid of the bugs before I download it again.
     
  19. Learjet035 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    S. Floriduh
    #20
    Just for fun I switched to another user. It works!!! WTF
    Switched back and it does the same thing (crash)
    For some reason it works fine with the other user, doesn't work on the admin??
     
  20. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #21
    That usually indicates a preferences problem, but you already trashed the .plist right?

    Maybe the beta is using a different .plist? or maybe there is a corrupted file in Home/Library/Safari? (DON'T trash them, but maybe try moving them off to the desktop and adding them back in one by one?).
     
  21. craigp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #22
    If you can switch user accounts, and Safari works, there must be something wrong in your home's system preferences.

    I'd start by removing everything in home/Library/InputManagers/ (move them to your desktop), then try to launch Safari 3.0.

    After that you might want to try moving the .plist files Safari uses. Again, don't trash anything, just move it somewhere safe.

    Start with ~(home)/Library/Preferences/com.apple.Safari.plist

    Maybe then try moving the stuff in: ~/Library/Internet Plug-Ins/

    After that, you could try: ~/Library/Safari/

    Then maybe: ~/Library/Application Support/SIMBL/ (if it exists)

    Between all of these, try starting Safari to see if what you've done fixes it.

    If any of these things fix it, please post back for the rest of us.
     
  22. Learjet035 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    S. Floriduh
    #23
     
  23. craigp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #24
    Yeah, you should be able to delete it without problem.
     
  24. DinnyHoon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #25
    Thanks for the tip! Writing this from within Safari 3 now, and it works perfectly! I took all plugins (including Speed Download) out of their respective folders and threw them on the desktop before installing. ALL my apps work fine.
     

Share This Page