AMD Polaris & Vega GPU macOS Support

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MisterAndrew, Nov 1, 2017.

  1. thevidness macrumors member

    thevidness

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #501
    thank you. i will try this when i find the time for it. to anyone reading along: don‘t wait for it. this could literally take months.
     
  2. MacManu77 macrumors newbie

    MacManu77

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    #502
    But on the internet in Europe there is an 8-pin cable with a splitter to 2 x 6-pin on the motherboard to connect a 580 nitro + special edition gpu?
    Do you have any links where you can order please?
    Thanks.
     
  3. thevidness macrumors member

    thevidness

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #503
    under-promise and over-deliver: i had to follow this through. results are dissapointing so far, after numerous failed attempts to get to the point to being actually able to flash the card (finally using a fresh install of windows 10 1709 and atiflash 2.77) i have to report that both the primary and secondary sapphire pulse 56 roms flashed to a reference sapphire 56 result in a mac pro not being able to boot and repeating its chime. luckily it‘s easy to recover with the bios switch.

    any hints on that? or is this already a lost cause? any other roms i should try? (didn‘t find a download of the powercolor one for example)

    edit: i consider the nitro+ bios a bad idea because i‘m running the card on internal power and need a bios that keeps the power consumption low. does this make sense?

    best regards,
    haye
     
  4. MisterAndrew thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #504
    Hmm. That happened to my Pulse when I flashed a Nitro+ 64 bios to it. Search for the name of the rom I listed with Google. It should be the first result.
     
  5. MacManu77 macrumors newbie

    MacManu77

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    #505
    this should be good of cable to connect (dual mini 6pin to 8pin) to connect the gpu amd right?

    https://ibb.co/c0ZggJ
     
  6. psaintemarie macrumors newbie

    psaintemarie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #506
    So I just installed today my ASUS ROG STRIX RX Vega 64 in my MacPro 5,1, with Pixlas Mod for the power supply and also running 10.13.5 latest beta and I'm not seeing the card over-ventilating. Fans speed looks ok when idling.

    I even tried running the Unigine Valley test and the card was not noisy at all (which was actually weird considering the same card in Mantiz eGPU TB3 enclosure connected to a MBP and running Unigine was kinda noisy)

    Do we have an app running in macOS that could give me easily some infos on the card, like temperature, fan speed, etc... ?

    I'll do more tests tomorrow (the MacPro is at work right now) but it looks promising.
     
  7. XNorth macrumors member

    XNorth

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Location:
    United States
    #507
    What's the slot width for this card? Do you have any benchmark numbers? I'm looking to ditch the Vega FE because of the fan noise, if there's a comparable 2-slot Vega alternative.
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #508
  9. lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #509
    it is definitely a 2.5 slot, but if better fan mgmt really come with 10.13.5 you could go with a reference model to keep the 2 slot height!
     
  10. psaintemarie macrumors newbie

    psaintemarie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #510
    Yeah I can confirm it's 2.5 slot unfortunately. I still need to run more tests regarding the fan situation and 10.13.5.

    I do want to know if there's an app that will give me easy access to temp/fan speed/etc.
     
  11. Garage Battle macrumors regular

    Garage Battle

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #511
    Is there a thread for High Sierra egpu card compatibility?
     
  12. teagls macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    #512

    Run this command in terminal should give you want you want.

    ioreg -l |grep \"PerformanceStatistics\" | cut -d '{' -f 2 | tr '|' ',' | tr -d '}' | tr ',' '\n'|grep 'Temp\|Fan'
     
  13. psaintemarie macrumors newbie

    psaintemarie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #513
    This is what I get:

    [​IMG]

    I definitely can hear the fans on the card but it's not that loud.
    --- Post Merged, May 11, 2018 ---
    So I've been running Valley for more than 30 mins now and this is what I get in terms of temperature:

    [​IMG]

    Fans are not running at higher speed it seems. Another "fan issue" (but on the other way) ?
     
  14. psaintemarie macrumors newbie

    psaintemarie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #514
    And this is under 10.13.4, so I guess it's about the same. I'm not sure about the numbers, if ~2000rpm is high or not for this card compared to the Nitro+/Pulse ones.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #515
    Thanks for providing this terminal command. Didn't know about this. Too bad that only work for AMD card, it shows nothing for my Nvidia card.
    Screen Shot 2018-05-11 at 18.00.39.png
     
  16. teagls macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    #516
    Yeh, unfortunately it only works for AMD. :(
     
  17. psaintemarie macrumors newbie

    psaintemarie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #517
    Anyone with a Nitro+/Pulse AMD Vega 54/64 could give me their Fan Speed (RPM) ? (if you can get that)
     
  18. XNorth, May 11, 2018
    Last edited: May 11, 2018

    XNorth macrumors member

    XNorth

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Location:
    United States
    #518
    FWIW, I did a unscientific test comparing fan speed and noise of the Vega FE in cMP 5.1 under HS 10.13.5 beta and Windows 10 Pro:

    Idle GPU fan noise
    Measured at the GPU fan intake with Decibel X on iPhone:
    • High Sierra - 85 dB
    • Windows 10 - 61 dB

    Idle GPU
    • High Sierra (from Terminal command by @teagle):
      • "Fan Speed(%)"=40
      • "Fan Speed(RPM)"=2001
      • "Temperature(C)"=26

    • Windows 10 idle GPU:
    VegaFE.PNG

    Stressed GPU
    • High Sierra using LuxMark benchmark:
      • "Fan Speed(%)"=44
      • "Fan Speed(RPM)"=2202
      • "Temperature(C)"=38
    • Windows 10 GPU using Furmark benchmark:
    VegaFE-2.PNG

    Conclusion
    • Idle fan noise: the Vega could be 39% noisier in High Sierra compared to Win 10.
    • Idle fan speed: the Vega could spin 160% faster in HS.
    • Stressed fan speed: The Vega could spin 10.4% faster in HS when stressed.
    • Temp: the Windows temp is much higher under stress, 103% higher
     
  19. teagls macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    #519
  20. XNorth macrumors member

    XNorth

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Location:
    United States
    #520
  21. lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #521
    small question, for those using bootcamp with their recent amg gpu.

    Under Windows 10, even with my vega gpu and only one screen, windows tell me my main screen is screen 2 and i have a screen 1 with 640*480 resolution.

    i tried removing « non plug & play monitor » from device manager, i tried forcing only display 2 in windows prefs...

    nothing change.

    whenever i reboot or come back from screen sleep. all my windows where resized to 640*480

    anyone know how to make this rubbish OS understand how to do things properly?
     
  22. MisterAndrew, May 12, 2018
    Last edited: May 12, 2018

    MisterAndrew thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #522
    I advise against modifying the kext. If you do that it will often fail to load.
    --- Post Merged, May 12, 2018 ---

    Thanks for discovering that.
    Yes, that fan speed is high. Pulse maxes out at 1600 rpm and Red Dragon maxes out at 2000 rpm. What is the max fan speed are you getting under heavy load? Does it go up to 100%?

    The command doesn't appear to work correctly for the Pulse. It says 0 rpm, but the fans are running. 39% of 1600 would be 624 rpm.

    Fan speed in 10.13.4.jpeg
    --- Post Merged, May 12, 2018 ---
    This thread covers the compatibility on a software level (in regards to the Mac Pro 6,1), and also hardware for the classic Mac Pro. If you're looking for hardware compatibility your eGPU enclosure manufacturer should have a list of compatible cards or you can use dimensional data to figure out what fits.
    --- Post Merged, May 12, 2018 ---
    If you require a 2 slot card then I suggest trying the PowerColor Red Dragon RX Vega 56. It's 305mm long so I can't say for certain it will fit, but it probably does.
     
  23. XNorth macrumors member

    XNorth

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Location:
    United States
    #523
    I have no resolution issues in Win 10. I updated the to the latest Windows drivers for my monitor and GPU.

    Thanks for the recommendation. It should fit. It would be a sacrifice in some performance downgrading to the 56 architecture, but the gain in power and noise efficiency could be worth it, not to mention a couple $$ in my pocket.

    How about these 2-slot Vega 64 cards? PowerColor RX Vega 64 versions, anyone tested/flashed them? They have the same features to control power and temperature as the Red Dragon. Or the Sapphire RX Vega 64? These are all flashable with Sapphire Pulse/NITRO Vega 56 BIOS?

    I'd like to stay within the 64 architecture, if the PowerColor/Sapphire Vega 64s could be flashed, they could be my ideal replacement.
     
  24. MisterAndrew thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #524
    Which 2-slot RX Vega 64s are you referring to? The PowerColor Red Devil is not 2 slot. The 2-slot PowerColor and Sapphire 64s are the reference card which all have the exact same AMD bios. They all came from AMD. The only 2 slot non-reference 64s I know of are the XFX Double Edition and MSI Air Boost, and neither appear to be currently available (and both have the cMP fan issue).
     
  25. lilins, May 12, 2018
    Last edited: May 13, 2018

    lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #525
    thanks but i updated to the latest drivers too, and it is not a resolution error, like i said, resolution on my screen is ok, I have 4K everything is allright. but windows tell me there is a second monitor attached... but there is not...

    edit:

    the issue has resolve itself XD really don't understand Win 10
     

Share This Page