iPhone 11 An honest opinion of my new iPhone 11, upgraded from 6S

Progressiveimaging

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 4, 2019
I use my iPhone for both personal use and business. I essentially run my company off of it. I do estimates and invoices, collect payment, schedule, take nots, pictures, email customer, do calculations, etc. etc.

I have been using an iPhone 6S for the last 4 years. I changed the battery out a little over a year ago, but it just got terrible. Recently I had to charge it 5-7 times per day. I noticed it getting slightly slower with some apps, so I figured it was time to upgrade.

One of the things I was looking forward to is the new screen, bigger screen means more real estate, right?

So I spent the day playing with my new iPhone 11. I set everything up and used everything the way I normally would. In the end, I am not impressed. It's good, everything works, but it's just not much different than the 6S, at least not in better ways.

It's a lot heavier. It's larger. It's thicker. It's bulky. I would forget those if the size of the screen was good, but it's just not doing anything for me. In most situations it's just like an "old man version" of the iPhone, meaning the same exact thing is on the screen, everything is just larger.

I still have 4 app thumbnails across and 6 down. Almost all apps still show the exact same thing, they just show it bigger.

In some instances, like browsing the web, I get fit more onto the page. That does help a little bit.

In the end, I needed the upgrade, but I am not impressed. Most of the big changes don't apply to me, I'm not a photographer and don't care much about the pictures since the ones on the 6S were fine. The changes that do help me are cancelled out by the negatives (mainly the bulkiness and weight). I should have just bought a new battery for the 6S.

That's just my honest opinion, worth what you paid for it.

gkn1999

macrumors member
Oct 30, 2017