Any 2560x1600 resolution 30" monitors that can also accept a TV signal?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by YoYoMa, Apr 5, 2007.

  1. YoYoMa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #1
    If not, it looks like I'll be going with the new High Color Dell monitor as I just noticed it can be had for $1250 on eBay with no tax. Do any of the large resolution monitors do this yet? Or has anyone heard of this being a future feature?
     
  2. PCtoMac-change macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #2
    I don't believe any can yet due to the insane reso. However, if you want a cheap(using that loosely) 1080p TV you can always get a 24" monitor. There are many HDCP 24" monitors.

    1080P is considered "Full HD" as they claim.
     
  3. YoYoMa thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. I really do want the insanely high res so a 24" won't really suit me. I suppose I'll wait until the show in June to see if Apple releases a new 30" with this capability. I like the Dell but I think I'll keep my options open afterall. If I change my mind though, I'll be sure to post a few pics of my new Dell 30". :)
     
  4. PCtoMac-change macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #4
    Actually I just did a little research and the Dell 30" 3007 is HDCP. But the Tech Specs won't work, but it probably has more than just he dual-DVI inputs.
     
  5. YoYoMa thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #5
    Yeah, I think that just means it will accept a copy protected signal from a computer though. Sort of a future proofing feature for Blueray.
     
  6. dkoralek macrumors 6502

    dkoralek

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #6
    You are correct. The problem is that 30" monitors require dual-link dvi, which isn't compatible with any hd source directly. You could do HD through something like eyetv hybrid, though, but you would be limited to unencrypted signals (something like the tvmini hd+ does do clear qam, but not all cable/sat providers give you much unencrypted hd). once leopard comes with blu-ray (and hd-dvd?) support, you should be able to get a blu-ray drive to display, but you would need an hdcp compatible video card, too. The fact that video devices aren't dual-link (hdmi is single-link dvi + audio) is, in fact, the reason that the 30" dells don't have multiple input sources (essentially, to get that high a resolution, the video card sends half the singal over each part of the dual link; i honestly don't know if it is physically half the panel, or every other line, etc., but nonetheless you can't display a single-link through it at full resolution).

    cheers.
     
  7. MacbookSwitcher macrumors 6502

    MacbookSwitcher

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    #7
    I've got a 24" right now. I would have gotten the 30" except that the MacBook doesn't support dual-link DVI out
     

Share This Page