any diagnostics tests that I can run on my mid 2010 mac pro with el capitan

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Sossity, Apr 30, 2016.

  1. Sossity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    #1
    I tried to hold the d key upon startup, then tried option + d key to get into apple diagnostics, but it just booted up normally.

    are there any apps I can use?
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    2010 was the year the moved from the aht being on your disks (in the box) to it being installed on the machine. chances are it's not installed on your machine.

    What exactly is your issue??
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
  4. Sossity thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    #4
    no issues yet, I wanted to be sure the computer is alright before I buy upgrade components, such as an ssd, ram etc. Does running this for a checkup cause harm? is it meant to be run only when there are problems?

    if so, should Iuse an app for this?

    --- Post Merged, Apr 30, 2016 ---
    thank you, I downloaded the one for the mac pro, do I just double click on it and run the test?
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    The instruction is on that page. You have to put the folder (which is hidden) at the correct location and hold the hot key to start it during boot.
     
  6. TheBigDog macrumors member

    TheBigDog

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #6
    Take it to the Genius Bar and they'll diagnose it for you :)
     

Share This Page