Any idea why the new airport is on clearance on apple.com?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by legaleye3000, Oct 31, 2007.

  1. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  2. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #3
    That's the rev. 1 of the AEBS not the newest one with gigabit ethernet.
     
  3. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #4
    Eraserhead- The refurbs are different from clearance items.

    Peace- ahhhhh... ok ... Is the only difference between rev 1 and 2 the gigabit ethernet? So if ur purely using wireless, it doesn't matter, right?

    Thanks
     
  4. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #5
    Other than the gigabit ethernet there's no difference that I know of.At least none that couldn't be resolved with a firmware update on the older model.
     
  5. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Sorry, they are usually in the same part of the site :eek:, I didn't check, and it came back to bite me :p.
     
  6. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #8
    IIRC, they have been shown to be different Broadcom chipsets. Other than the gigabit interface, I don't know how else the chipsets differ but they are different.
     
  8. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #9

    picky,picky,picky! :rolleyes:
     
  9. macleod199 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    #10
    Apparently the network backplane hardware on Rev 1 is limited to 100 Mbps, so even if you have good enough conditions to be able to establish a 100+ Mbps real-throughput wireless connection, the router won't be able to handle it. Probably not a big deal in the near term or for most people who don't have gigabit anyway.
     
  10. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #11
    If I have a cable modem hooked into the router...I want to do wireless printing and hard drive... will rev 1 or 2 make a difference?
     
  11. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #12
    when I can get real-throughput of 100Mbps via wireless that's when I'll buy a new one.
     

Share This Page