Any video editors running Final Cut Pro on 15" Unibody MBP?!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macjunkie33, Jan 8, 2009.

1. macjunkie33 macrumors member

First, I am a pro video editor and use Final Cut Pro, CS3, namely After Effects dailys. I plan on picking up the top model 15" MBP with the 2.5ghz, 4g ram, 512 Vid card, and adding a 320G 7200 RPM HD within the next week or so.

I was wondering if there were any other video editors or designers out there who have done much editing on the same machine using Final Cut Pro and Adobe CS3 who might have some insight. I am just looking for some opinions from those of you who have been using your MBP's for a long time.

1. Is the new LED screen easier or harder to complete design work?
    2. Does the screen bother you when working on it for hours at a time?
    3. Have you been able to calibrate the screen to accurately color correct?
    4. Is the 512mb vid card really going to be a good investment in the long run or just costing me battery life when unplugged?

I have a mac pro at work which I would not trade for the world but I need a portable to get some work and Freelance done at home. I know there are a lot of questions to be asked about a first gen update but I feel Apple has confused a lot of us by taking away a lot of options we used to be able to pick from. Im not going to cry and whine about it I just want to make sure I spend my money wisely! I hope im making the right decision!!! Thanks for your input.....:)

2. wiz7dome macrumors regular

wiz7dome

I'd be interested in hearing some feedback too. I was going to purchase the previous model due to the economy, but I found out about the faulty graphic chips.......I don't like the sound of that. Im sure the new MBP's are solid, but its always cool to hear some real word user reviews.

3. aZipGunOnParade macrumors newbie

I'm using the new 15" MBP with Final Cut, and I haven't encountered any problems.