Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nj-morris

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Nov 30, 2014
UK
This probably sounds crazy and stupid, and I'm not really an expert on what people use widgets for, but I get the impression that the general reason people use widgets is to maybe check news articles, check their social feed, get to their recently used contacts, etc. The search page has all of that, and furthermore, they have an API, so other apps can put content there, whether useful or useless. And it seems much more organised than having Android style widgets.
Is there something that I'm missing? Feel free to give your own opinion, but this is just mine.

EDIT: Just in case there was any confusion, I meant would this feature shut people who want home screen widgets up. Still not a big fan of the notification centre widgets as they are too disorganised, but they do the trick.

Last edited:

quackers82

macrumors 6502
Mar 13, 2014
Last year i was thinking that screen to the left of the home screen that was in iOS 6 that they removed in iOS 7 would have been a great place to put widgets.

profets

macrumors 603
Mar 18, 2009
I don't think it will replace notification centre widgets, but it is a fair question to ask.

I use notification centre widgets quite often throughout the day, mainly for very quick glances at information. And a lot of the time from the lock screen without unlocking the phone. First few things I check are temperatures (from sensors inside & outside the house), calendar items and reminders. I never really viewed them as Android style widgets, as they all blend into a list within notification centre.

Having said that, I do love the idea of the new search/spotlight page.

nj-morris

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Nov 30, 2014
UK