Anyone else not use 3G because of battery drain?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by shotta287, Sep 2, 2013.

  1. shotta287 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    #1
    Hi, i have a 4s and ever since i've got it i have it on 2g, but if i switch to 3g i start to get sudden battery drain, is this normal ?
     
  2. stormchaser macrumors 6502

    stormchaser

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Yes that's normal. My wife's 4 and my previous 3GS had this problem but switching it off saved a lot of battery. Sadly I can't do this on my 5 as there is only an LTE switch and no 3G toggle :(
     
  3. watchthisspace macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    #3
    I would use 2g, but the network I'm on is 3G only. My 4 still gets a good portion of the day with usual use.
     
  4. Tiger8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #4
    Depends on how much of a drain. The main reason I terminated my contract with Sprint was that data became so bad to the point were the phone would loose 25% overnight in standby with 3G on, 1% with 3G off,which is NOT normal. once I switched though it drains something like 8%, which seems ok

    How much do you use while on standby?
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  6. shotta287 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    #6
    i lose like 1% every minute on 3G lol , plus 2G is fine for whatsapp, and if i do need to use maps or browse outside i turn 3G on
     
  7. R.Stoychev macrumors 6502a

    R.Stoychev

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    #7
    I use my 3G what is the point of using my 2G for less battery drain, turn off something that you don't use daily to cut battery drain :rolleyes:
     
  8. IFRIT macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    #8
    I guess you mean the signal was bad which was causing more of a drain then usual?
     
  9. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #9
    Yes you can ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Tiger8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #10
    Yes, that's a key factor actually; a lot of times excessive 3G battery drain can be traced back to weak signal; phone keeps increasing power to keep the connection.
     
  11. IFRIT macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    #11
    Isn't that what he said? A LTE toggle but no 3g one....
     

Share This Page