Anyone get 60hz to work at 4K on MB Pro Retina?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Eric-PTEK, Aug 17, 2014.

  1. Eric-PTEK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #1
    I have a 5 month old MB Pro 13" Retina connected to a Dell 24" 4K monitor, one of the approved monitors from Apple.

    It works but only at 30hz and not 60. I am running the 10.10 beta with all the latest updates but no luck.

    I read somewhere that someone used 2 cables and ran each half of the screen at 60hz but not what I am looking for.

    Their 4K scaling looks great but the 30hz is killing me.
     
  2. coolkecool macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
  3. TheIguana, Aug 17, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2014

    TheIguana macrumors 6502a

    TheIguana

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Not possible, the 13" rMBPs Iris chipset/Intel chipset maxes out at 30hz. See previous threads about it.

    If you need 4k @ 60hz your only option right now is a 15" rMBP or a Mac Pro. No other computers in Apple's lineup support it.

    Some users have reported being able to run up to a maximum of 52hz with SwitchResX - but that isn't officially supported.
     
  4. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #4
    The U-series Haswells with Iris 5100 do not support 60 Hz.

    Only the 15" rMBPs with Iris Pro and/or 750M support 4K @ 60Hz.
     
  5. c1phr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    #5
    And they only support HDMI 1.4, so you have to be connected to the display via DisplayPort to get 60hz.
     
  6. gametime10 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    #6
    Can the 650M support 4K at 60hz?
     
  7. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #7
    No, because the rMBPs with 650M only have TB1.

    TB1 doesn't have enough bandwidth to support 4K @ 60 Hz.
     
  8. Eric-PTEK thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #8
    Anyone want to buy a 13" MB Pro :)

    Crap...and to think I almost bought the 15" many months ago when I got the 13".

    I wanted the portability of the 13" but now since this will be my main machine at home I'll have to get a 15".

    Will it run 2 monitors by chance at 4K if I get the Nvidia unit?
     
  9. TheIguana macrumors 6502a

    TheIguana

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    The current rMBP only supports outputting to one 4k display. If you want to run multiple 4k displays your only choice from Apple is a Mac Pro.
     

Share This Page