Anyone get glitches with late 2015 MBP running Powerpoint and Safari?

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by LeCroqueMitaine, Apr 20, 2017.

  1. LeCroqueMitaine macrumors newbie

    LeCroqueMitaine

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    #1
    So I'm on the latest version of macOS and get those very annoying glitches on Powerpoint. Also get these on Safari on the adress bar. It's very unprofessional when I have to do presentations and my machine is not even 3 month old.

    See the glitches here :

    I went to Apple store 4 times and they tested the hardware, which is supposed to be working fine. So they had me reinstall the OS 4 times and after a couple of days the glitches come back every time.

    Had a Macbook Air before this, never had a single issue... Not sure what is the next step. Anybody had to deal with this?
     
  2. daverdfw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    #2
    Yup. Been getting same issues since latest update. Still happens on the beta as well
     
  3. LeCroqueMitaine thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeCroqueMitaine

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    #3
    So you don't think it's hardware related? They changed the motherboard once and it came back real quick... I paid 2200$ for this and as a student, that hurts.
     
  4. daverdfw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    #4
    Nope. Don't think it's hardware at lot. There was a thread with quite a few of us using 2015 MacBooks seeing this
     
  5. LeCroqueMitaine thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeCroqueMitaine

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    #5
    Man I with they pause the whole iOS crap for a bit and actually give macOS somme attention.
     
  6. alex.houston macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Location:
    Indiana
    #6
  7. LeCroqueMitaine thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeCroqueMitaine

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    #7
    Never tried this one. But is it a "graphic intensive task" ?

    TBH I'm writing this from a Windows 10 computer I bought 3 days ago in a BestBuy sale and the MBP is in its box. I'm trying to convince myself that it's fixable and not sell it even if Apple couldn't fix it with changing the motherboard and having me reinstall the OS 4 times.

    I'm a bit saddened by the fact that I could qui macOS but I was pleasantly surprised by Windows 10 running from an SSD. It's quite good!
     
  8. alex.houston macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Location:
    Indiana
    #8
    Well, in the past I saw that setting help apps work smoother. It will especially help Apple's own apps (e.g. scrolling in a large photo library), which generally will not request high performance GPU. I think it's worth trying.

    And yes, Windows has come a long way since Vista days, but I still have more problems with Windows than with macs.
     
  9. LeCroqueMitaine thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeCroqueMitaine

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    #9
    Ok I tried but don't see it. Maybe because I have the 13 inches and no dedicated graphic card?
     
  10. alex.houston macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Location:
    Indiana
    #10
    Yep, 13" MBP has integrated graphics only. Sorry, I thought it was a 15" one.
    So, did you always restore from Time Machine backup after OS reinstallation, or did you try clean reinstall? I've had a weird graphics glitch after new OS+Time Machine restore, but clean install was fine. (That time it turned out all I had to do after Time Machine restore was to open AutoCAD program once and close it and the glitch was gone. That was also the only time ever mac reminded me of my windows experience.)
     
  11. LeCroqueMitaine thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeCroqueMitaine

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    #11
    Clean install every time, yep.

    I've very tempted to keep the MBP... they keep great value but after 3 months of use I obviously lose a lot. Plus I didn't remember how LOUD a Windows PC can be. Even with an SSD and no graphic card running, it's ****ing loud all the time, only browsing Chrome. Might just bring it back to BestBuy and wait for a patch from Apple to correct the glitches... What are the chances my Mac has a hardware problem you think?
     
  12. alex.houston macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Location:
    Indiana
    #12
    As far as I know, Apple had hardware graphics problems for certain models, but these were problems related to discrete graphics chips. I'd think yours is probably a software issue.
    You should try some basic troubleshooting (resetting PRAM/NVRAM/SMC...), e.g. see this guide:
    Troubleshooting Graphics and Display Issues on Your Mac
    https://www.lifewire.com/troubleshooting-mac-display-problems-4121097
     
  13. LeCroqueMitaine thread starter macrumors newbie

    LeCroqueMitaine

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    #13
    Ok so I guess it's only software related. I'll just use Chrome until they fix the damn problems in the next iterations of macOS (hopefully). What surprised me is there's not much people talking about it on forums and Reddit. Maybe its not an issue for people or they just don't bother fixing it.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 20, 2017 ---
    Also I just reinstalled it and it did it first time I started Safari so I wont love my time resetting the VRAM when I litteraly just installed macOS.
     
  14. alex.houston macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Location:
    Indiana
    #14
    I don't think there is a NVRAM/SMC reset during OS reinstall, so it might be useful to try these.
    Of course, you might disagree if you are not too bothered with the glitch and using different browser already works for you.
     

Share This Page