Anyone have experience with installing 5GB of RAM in Late 2008 Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vader1990, Nov 20, 2008.

  1. vader1990 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #1
    I was wondering if any of you have installed a 4GB and 1GB--the one it ships with--(Total 5GB) module in the late 2008 Pro yet? How well does it work? Does it improve speed at all? Is it worth the upgrade? Details/links/articles/videos/pics, are all greatly appreciated :)

    I heard it tales away dual-channel or something? Is this true? How much of a loss is this really?


    Thanks!
     
  2. raymondu999 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #2
    Dual channel only happens when you have 2 matched sticks. ie, 2 identical chips in your 2 slots. Hence, this wouldn't get dual channel. However, generally, for RAM, more>matched. Meaning that say, 3GB unmatched will still perform better than 2GB in a matched pair.
     
  3. CaffeMacchiato macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #3
    In theory, no; dual channeling does not necessary requires two identical ram.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dual-channel

    Has anyone tried replacing the original 1 + 1 = 2 Gig ram to 1 + 4 = 5 Gig ram?
     
  4. raymondu999 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #4
    But they must be same size. And not the same brand, but same spec. I have 6GB (2+4) if that helps any.
     
  5. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #5
    I've got to ask. Can you tell any difference with the 6 gigs in everyday performance, or does it 'just' let you handle CS4 or FCP sufficiently while running parallels?
     
  6. raymondu999 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #6
    Well I don't really feel it being "faster." But I can feel it a bit "tougher," if you know what I mean. It's not any faster, but it can take whatever I throw at it. So like, I can open more apps at the same time. So the answer would be the second one.
     
  7. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #7
    Nice. Have you tried encoding any videos or anything like handbrake?
     
  8. raymondu999 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #8
    Well, there's not really much difference to be seen there.:p
     
  9. CaffeMacchiato macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #9
    It seems that no one has done 1 + 4 before.
     
  10. bartzilla macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #10
    Just a guess, but perhaps most people rich enough to buy a 4Gb stick of ram probably already had or are also willing to buy a 2Gb stick to go with it for 6Gb. If you're going to be hard core enough to try it at all, surely it makes sense to go for the most "top drawer" setup you can get right?
     
  11. CaffeMacchiato macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #11
    Lol, so 4 + 4 is the max?
     
  12. Pneublet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #12
    The new MBP can only effectively use 6gb right now
     
  13. raymondu999 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #13
    There have been many reports of 8GB tested. However, in all of these cases, the MBP simply slows to a crawl, leading us to believe that the MBPs have been tinkered with at the software level to disallow this.
     

Share This Page