Anyone having trouble with AOL and Mail after their revamp of the mail system?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by acearchie, May 31, 2007.

?

Are you having the problem?

  1. Yes

    2 vote(s)
    20.0%
  2. No

    4 vote(s)
    40.0%
  3. A-O-what?

    4 vote(s)
    40.0%
  1. Frankf300 macrumors regular

    Frankf300

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    Yep, I'm having a problem since they decided to change everything. I'm on Panther so I have the older Safari and it won't work with that. It only works with Safari 2.0, but yet they claim OS X 10.3.7 or later. I have Firefox, but I like using Safari better. That's all besides the fact though because I set up my AOL mail in Apple Mail anyway. :D
     
  2. Cindynjgirl79 macrumors 6502a

    Cindynjgirl79

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    aol is always messing with me in one way or another. this time, to my shock nothing. i use both safari and foxfire and it's fine.
     
  3. acearchie thread starter macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #4
    yes but I was refering to the application Mail not just the online AOL Mail browsing!

    Thanks for the help though!

    Has anyone had to change their settings in Mail for this alteration?

    Thanks
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    I have seen occasional downtime of the IMAP server, but otherwise, it seems to be working properly for me.
     
  5. Frankf300 macrumors regular

    Frankf300

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    NY
    #6
    Yea, I can't say that I've had any problems checking my AOL e-mail in Mail. I always have Mail running and there have been no problems connecting to the server and retrieving my AOL mail.
     
  6. acearchie thread starter macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #7
    For me it keeps on saying that it cannot send it via the current server, So I press try again and it still doesnt work!

    After pressing try again many a time it just decides to work!
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Do you have send only trouble, or also receiving trouble? If you only have sending trouble, you are probably being blocked from their SMTP server, and you need to use the one your ISP provides.
     

Share This Page