Anyone notice *228 doesnt work anymore?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by GIZBUG, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. GIZBUG macrumors 65816

    GIZBUG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
    Verizon users, any previous iphone, I could dial *228 to update my PRL
    Noticed this is not available on the iphone 5. Anyone know why?

    ----------

    Found it:

    Our 4G devices no longer support the *228 option. All updates are OTA (over the air) thru the sim card. We do recommend periodically shutting off your phone and pulling the sim card. This will also refresh your device as well as the Network. If you feel that you aren't receiving coverage, the iPhone allows you to reset Network settings. This will assist you phone in located the nearest Verizon "network" tower. You are able to do this by the following steps: settings, general, reset, reset network settings.

    Guess that answers that question
     
  2. tymaster50 macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #2
    So basically if you get no signal pull out your sim card and just put it back in? That doesn't make a great deal of sense but I guess the network reset will work .
     
  3. imazu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Location:
    Couch
    #3
    When I switched phones, it has a message that for LTE phones *228 doesn't work. I know restarting the phone and waiting for a couple minutes should activate it on it's own.

    I completely forgot the exact message.
     
  4. ROLLTIDE1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #4
    also don't try to load PRL's on to 4G phones or you will have problems
     
  5. Six8 macrumors 65816

    Six8

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Location:
    Earth

Share This Page