Anyone running a 15" Macbook Pro Retina with Maya and other 3D apps?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fig, Jun 3, 2014.

1. fig macrumors 6502a

fig

I'm a designer and animator who's currently got a 13" Macbook Aluminum (used mostly for design and light development work) and the latest revision of the Mac Mini, dual 2.6ghz with a Fusion Drive.

I'm looking at getting rid of the Mini, which is reasonably capable but won't ever be confused for fast, and the 13" MB and replacing them with a MacBook Pro that I'd run mostly in clamshell mode connected to an external display or two.

I don't do a ton of heavy rendering/simulation/effects, mostly character animation and some light modeling and rendering in Maya and Modo.

I'm considering something like the 15" 2.7ghz with 16mb RAM and the GT650M. Any thoughts, ideally from folks with firsthand experience? Thanks.

2. fig thread starter macrumors 6502a

fig

3. kelon111 macrumors 6502

For 3D rendering , I would use a Quadro or FirePro GPU.
    Of course those are considered professional class GPUs so no Mac laptop would use them.

A GT 650M can do the same job roughly speaking , but it can be a lot slower depending on what exactly you're modelling.

The good thing is that if you don't do high end 3D rendering as a job , you can afford to wait longer for the same task to get done.

4. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

Not a good idea since NVIDIA has gimped professional 3D performance in its GeForce line, starting with the 6-Series. You'd be better off getting a Dell Precision M3800 as it's available with a Retina-like display and a Quadro GPU, which will be ideally suited for development applications.

5. kelon111 macrumors 6502

I would recommend the M3800 as well. Not only would the M3800 be better for 3D rendering due to better hardware and better optimized software , but it would be easier to change parts and get things fixed if needed.

6. leman macrumors 604