Anyone switch from 13” to 15” Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tjleonard, Jan 12, 2018.

  1. tjleonard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #1
    My 13” 2016 MBP w/TB (i7 max cpu, 16gb Ram, 1tb hard drive has been really slow when working (kind of random but seems to be slow with almost everything). Sometimes restarting can help, usually not.

    Anyone go to a 15” from 13” and if so, did you notice dramatic speed increases?
     
  2. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #2
    The 15" has better cooling which helps under heavy usage..
     
  3. tjleonard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #3
    I did buy a cooling mat for work that has the fans under it. It is helping a little, but I’ll still get some delayed typing, slow program switches, etc. Sometimes when I’m typing I out type what is going whatever I’m typing in (and misses a lot of what I type). You can tell it’s being super slow though.
     
  4. oldtime macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #4
    What kind of work are you doing that causes the slowdowns?
     
  5. jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #5
    Have you tried running the Activity Monitor to see what you computer is doing when it gets slow? If not, run (Utilities | Activity Monitor) and select the CPU. Sort the % CPU column
     
  6. whg macrumors regular

    whg

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #6
    The 15" has a 2 more CPU cores, but for normal single threaded applications there should not be a big difference, in my experience. I only profit from the better CPU when I run Virtual Machines or do a parallel processing Matlab model calculation (or similar). Something seems to be wrong with your MacBook. I would get it checked by Apple or maybe do a re-install of macOS, and stick to Sierra, do not yet upgrade to High Sierra.
     
  7. tjleonard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #7
    I’ve reinstalled MacOS two times. I’m not sure if it’s a 13” problem or my MacBook issue. I just can’t figure out which program is doing it, if it is the result of a single program.
     
  8. utgjon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
  9. Poki macrumors 65816

    Poki

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    #9
    Can you attach a screenshot of activity monitor of both the CPU and memory tabs taken when the Mac is slow?
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    Yes, due to the fact it has a dGPU, and quad core processors. I'd say when I moved back to the 15" from the 13" the speed was noticable.
     
  11. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #11
    I’ve used 11” and 13” models of MacBooks (Air, Pro) for the last 12 years or so. When the 2016 MBP models came out, I first got myself a 13” non-touchbar model but returned it and bought a 15” (stock mid-range model). The thing is a beast. Very fast. Great battery life. Not much heavier that my 2014 13” model was. Sometimes I miss having a super light laptop, but my iPad Pro fits that description.
     
  12. sputnikBA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    #12
    It also has a quad core which helps under heavy usage.
     
  13. Eric8199 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    #13
    I'd second this. I have a 2016 13" MacBook Pro, the 512gb model with 8gb ram (I can't remember if it also had an improved processor in it or not) and the 2017 15" with 512gb and 16gb ram. It's a huge difference in Photoshop, Lightroom and InDesign, where I spend most of my time. It might just be the extra ram, but man. I use my 13" for work and my 15" for personal, but there's been a few times on big projects that I've brought my 15" into work because it's noticeably faster than the 13". And in Lightroom there's no contest, even with high res .jpg files. When we get into RAW, the 15 just kills the 13.
     
  14. tjleonard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #14
    Now I have the choice to ride it out for a couple months hoping for the next bump, or go ahead and get a 15!
     
  15. Eric8199 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    #15
    I don’t expect the next bump to be a very big one personally. We've seen no rumors of anything. I guess it depends on how bad you need it. If you need it now, get it now. If not, wait for WWDC when we MIGHT see new ones.
     
  16. Glockworkorange macrumors 6502a

    Glockworkorange

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #16
    I moved from 13" to 15" (13" 2016 TB to 15" 2017) but did so mainly for screen real estate. My 13 inch is the base model. The 15" is the mid-tier with 512 GB and whatever the jumped up card is.

    I can discern no differences in performance, noise, etc. Then again, I've never pushed either system.
     
  17. mj_ macrumors regular

    mj_

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #17
    I went from a 13" 2016 nTB MBP (2.4 GHz i7 Dual-Core / 8GB / 512GB / Iris 540) to a 15" 2015 MBP (2,5 GHz i7 Quad-Core / 16GB / 512GB / R9) and haven't really noticed any difference at in everyday use. The external 4K display is smoother with the R9 than the Iris 540 but really, the differences are negligible.

    I don't push my systems to the max though, and I've been quite happy with the 13" 2016's overall performance.
     
  18. Glockworkorange macrumors 6502a

    Glockworkorange

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #18
    I’m interested in the answer to this as well.
     
  19. BayouTiger macrumors 6502

    BayouTiger

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #19
    I went from a 2013 loaded 13” to a mid range 2016 15” and the difference Is very big. That said, I didn’t like the extra bulk. I thought the new 15” being only a half pound more would make it worth the extra weight and size, but I use my machine in the field a lot and I just never liked it. I still have both, but I need to get rid of both of them as I use an X1Carbon now. I do miss my Mac though, but I have to use Windows for work so th3 Thinkpad is a decent compromise.
     
  20. chadder1313 macrumors newbie

    chadder1313

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Location:
    U.S.
    #20
    I have a base 13' 2017 nTB 8 256 and I'm coming from a 2015 base 15' and dare i say this little macbook pro has kept up surprisingly well. I don't push them that hard so thats probably why. But i will say this 13 is more enjoyable to use.
     
  21. FrozenDarkness macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #21
    I don't think people realize that it's not so much the weight difference, it's the center of balance for me. when I use it in bed, or balanced on my lap, you feel more of the weight as it is harder to balance.

    Personally, I think 13" with a monitor is the sweet spot. Can't wait for quad core.
     
  22. 06tb06 macrumors member

    06tb06

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Location:
    2,711 miles from Apple Campus
    #22
    How so? Prior to the 2016 model year and onwards, the 13" MBPs used a single blower-type fan for cooling and the 15" had dual fans. Starting with 2016 both the 13" and 15" models were equipped with dual blower-type fans. Both the 2016 and 2015 13" MBPs are using the same 28-watt rated chips, so why was a single blower fan sufficient on the prior model but not the newer model? I think it comes down to thinness. Apple couldn't move the same amount of air with a single mounted fan solution.
     
  23. tjleonard thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    #23
    I don't do enough to get a huge slowdown...

    I usually remote into 3-4 servers with Jump Desktop, Outlook, Word, aText, FlyCut, Bartender, Alfred, AdGuard, Mosaic, Snagit, Safari (sometimes Chrome too, with 5-6 tabs in each). Essentially, that isn't a lot...and it should run all of these without any trouble. I could use Parallel's if the machine would run it decently, although that will tend to slow some things down and it starts getting warm. I don't normally see anything in Activity Monitor that jumps out during the slowdowns. I did attach a screenshot though, but keep in mind that it's not acting slow at all right now.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Glockworkorange macrumors 6502a

    Glockworkorange

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #24
    Yeah, I don't think that workload should stress your system. My workload is very similar.
     
  25. magbarn macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #25
    Is your SSD full? They like to have at least 10-15% free for provisioning... When a SSD if full it drops to a crawl.
     

Share This Page