Anyone think of moving the BT Antenna to the outside of the 2018 Mac Mini?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by VisualStim, Jan 10, 2019.

  1. VisualStim macrumors newbie

    VisualStim

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2018
    #1
    I was watching Snazzy break down his Mac Mini and saw that the BT antenna was under the black circular stand. Been thinking that you might be able to just buy longer BT / Wifi cables and route the Antenna module outside the Mac Mini



    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Partron22 macrumors 68020

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #2
    Might work if you can run it shielded far enough away from the USB3.
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors Pentium

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    Why mess up a Mini like that? And void the warranty, as well?

    Just buy a USB3 "extender cable" (has male plug on one end and female port on the other).
    Then, get a 3rd-party bluetooth "adapter".

    This will SOLVE the bluetooth problems for most folks.
     
  4. Ploki macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #4
    Yeah, no. My mini will be far away from me so I'm gonna run everything via TB3 dock anyway.
     
  5. gages macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    #5
    If you have Filevault enabled, you can not use the dongle until you have authenticated, which means plugging in a kbd to enter the initial pwd.
     
  6. jeyf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #6
    sounds like the OP has an understanding for RF design.
     
  7. Ploki macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #7
    right... thats annoying
     
  8. Ramias macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    #8
    How do I get my Mac to use the third party dongle? And will my watch still unlock it?
     
  9. Partron22 macrumors 68020

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #9
    I tried the long cable and 3rd party (Mac compatible dongle) method. It actually made matters worse.
    Perhaps my cable was not shielded well enough. That seems quite an important issue here. I've had to throw some skinny cables away.

    The Dongle should take over automatically. You see the change in "About this Mac" "System Report".
     

Share This Page