Anyone tried a Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 LGA775 in an imac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by combat squirrel, Mar 31, 2009.

  1. combat squirrel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #1
    As title, the new intel imacs are LGA775 ? or are they not ? lol, just thought about putting in a quad core and seeing what would happen, any ideas people ?

    Or perhaps a Intel® Core 2 Q9100 which is a quad mobile processor.
     
  2. txnoob macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #2
    Um.....no. It's not as easy as just swapping it out.
     
  3. combat squirrel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
  4. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

  5. combat squirrel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #5
    right, is it because its fc-pga ? what about a pin mode to overclock the current CPU's ? surely this can be done ?
     
  6. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #7
    Does that mean I could add an Intel QX9300 mobile Quad-core extreme cpu would work in an iMac? Might be worthwhile to but a ATI 2600-based refurb 24" if such an upgrade would work. I'd have to find one of these CPUs and pay someone to put it in but it would be nice to try.

    Cheers,
     
  7. casinnova macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    #8
    i am thinking of attempting this upgrade very soon...

    2008 imac 20" 2.4 C2D


    => QX9300 or T9900

    I will let you know.
     
  8. MacHamster68, Jun 10, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2011

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #9
    the core duo's have socket M like the core duo minis
    but you already got a core 2 duo so

    its still the question what the logicboard supports
    as there are limits
    the core duo iMac's for example
    support is limited to 2.33ghz core 2 duo and no faster to my knowledge like in the core duo mini's

    so it would not surprise me if Apple would have limited later core2 duo iMac's too to protect the sales of faster (newer)Mac's, something Apple loves to do, they prefer if you buy a new one instead of upgrading your old one for $100
     
  9. Hexley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #10
    The X7900 has been confirmed to work on the mid 2007 iMac with T7300 via iFixIT

    http://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/53213/CPU+upgrade+2.0GHz+to+2.8Ghz+(+C2D+Extreme+X7900+)

    Socket P processors that may work on the iMac.

    Quad-Core Notebook processors
    2.53 GHz Core 2 Extreme QX9300
    2.27 GHz Core 2 Quad Q9100
    2 GHz Core 2 Quad Q9000

    Dual-Core Notebook processors
    3.07 GHz Core 2 Extreme X9100
    2.8 GHz Core 2 Extreme X9000
    2.8 GHz Core 2 Extreme X7900
    2.6 GHz Core 2 Extreme X7800
    3.07 GHz Core 2 Duo T9900

    These were shorlisted for being quad core, extreme and being clocked beyond 3GHz.

    This gent tried to install a QX9300 into his Early 2008 iMac and wouldn't boot. Sad to hear as this would have been my top pick.

    http://www.broadbandreports.com/forum/r27371760-iMac-Compatible-CPUs
     
  10. Schprecher macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #11
    my english bad,
    i try core 2 quad q6600 775 lga, 1066 bus! only 1066 bus possible can work with it.
    but on start loading mac os, after apple logo start up, osx going to kernel panic at cpu0 caller.

    u can use imac with core 2 quad q6600 / 1066 bus / only IN WINDOWS 7
    OSX doesnt support core 2 quad, if someone can fix it or create a patch for osx 10.8 or higer
    it can work for quad core in imac under mac os x.

    me worked for find a way to use osx with quad core.
    but am not geneus programmer who can do it.
     
  11. Dean Yu macrumors regular

    Dean Yu

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    #12
    Q6600 has a 105W TDP which is too high for the iMac you have(65W). You should try QS series with 65W TDP such as Q9550S.
     

Share This Page