Anyway to get bluetooth earpiece to activate google now instead of S voice?

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by spinedoc77, Mar 30, 2013.

  1. spinedoc77 macrumors G3

    spinedoc77

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #1
    Note 2. When I hit my Bluetooth earpiece button it activates Samsung S Voice, which is terrible. While I'm not in love with google voice, I'd rather use that than S voice. Is there any setting or hack which I can use to have my Bluetooth earpiece activate google now?
     
  2. Assault macrumors 6502a

    Assault

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Location:
    in the taint
    #2
    Root your phone. Download titanium backup from the play store and delete all that useless Samsung bloat ware like media hub, Samsung music hub. Samsung push notifications. S Voice. And so on. Keep S Note though. You don't need any of the Samsung garbage and it sits in the background using RAM for no reason.

    Or download a ROM that is pure vanilla android. You will be happier.

    And I don't know about a BT earpiece, but in my car all BT commands work as they should, but I am rooted and romed and my car has A2DP Bluetooth syncing. Should work the same with your earpiece, but I can't say for certain, cause I don't use them. Hopefully, someone else can chime in here on that aspect.

    Or head over to the XDA forums. Here is the link to the AT&T portion of the Note 2 side of the forum: http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1870

    If you are on another carrier, just use that "Find my device" bar at the top of the page. By the way, Telus, Bell, Rogers and AT&T fall under the same ROMs (as well as T-Mobile I believe).
     
  3. ChazUK macrumors 603

    ChazUK

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Essex (UK)
    #3
    What happens if you disable s-voice completely?

    Settings > Apps > All S-Voice > Disable?

    Does Google Now become default?
     
  4. adder7712 macrumors 68000

    adder7712

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Double tapping on the home button brings up Google Voice Dialler instead.
     
  5. spinedoc77 thread starter macrumors G3

    spinedoc77

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #5
    It goes to google voice dialerI which is an improvement I think. I much prefer google now though if anyone knows a hack.
     

Share This Page