Apple Care: how do you protect your data in case of assistance?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Squall Strife, Aug 17, 2011.

1. Squall Strife macrumors newbie

I'm considering buying a 2011 27" Imac (SSD + HDD) that will be my main computer, but there's one important aspect that keep me from pulling the trigger.
    Let's suppose that for some malfunctions (let's say the screen or the power supply) I've got to send the Imac to an authorized Apple center...how can I protect all my personal data stored on the HD to prevent that someone at Apple can access it ? I mean, I'm a professional and I do work with my computer so, on my HD I usually store not only personal data but other private stuff of my customers too so, it is vitally important to me to protect their privacy too.
    So the question is: what do you do when you send your computer to Apple? Do you format your HD before sending the machine?

(sorry for my english, it's not my first language)

2. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

Taz Mangus

There is a simple solution don't store your valuable personal data on the internal hard drive. Buy yourself two external hard drives, one for time machine backups and one to store your valuable personal information on. This is what I do. So when I have to take the computer into the Apple store I simply disconnect the external hard drives.

3. John T macrumors 68020

John T

When I sent my old iMac in for service, I simply set up an additional account. Obviously the Service Centre needed a password to get into the machine to work on it. I gave them the password of the account recently created.

4. aristobrat macrumors G4

IMO, it's next-to-impossible to protect data on a machine that someone has physical access to.

You could create a second Administrator account, and only give Apple that password, but they could always boot your iMac off of the restore DVD and change the password of your main Administrator account.