Apple TV WiFi goes super slow requiring reboot

Pastorinni

macrumors newbie
Jun 10, 2019
2
0
Logic would dictate that the sole device with the problem would be the problem. However networking operates outside the boundaries of logic. Power cycling the router should also fix it since it seems to need to renew the IP the ATV is using. I would try power cycling the router AND modem just to see the duration before it happens again.

Also when its happening log into the google app and look at data usage on your network. Make sure the AppleTV or something isn't saturating bandwidth. 100 mbps isn't difficult this day in age, Apple, Sony, Microsoft, etc can do that. Google gives you the ability to see that in the app though.

You are correct, network works in funny ways.

There is no saturation in the bandwidth, my internet is 600mbps, and I'm not even using internet to stream these. As I mentioned I have these files saved on my network hard drive (WD MyCloud), and stream them via the wi-fi, this doesn't consume (or wouldn't be affected by) some other app/device using the bandwidth, regardless the usage is negligible, I checked.

It really came down to what you said, restarting the router prevented the issue from occurring, and it is pretty stable now, so I guess just cycle the router once in a while to keep things fresh. I didn't even do a power cycle, just a reboot via the google wi-fi app.

I hope this helps others with a similar issue.
 

RJelly

macrumors newbie
Oct 2, 2019
1
0
So my Apple TV has had this problem basically since I got it, but it happens infrequently enough (maybe once a week) that I just deal with it. But now it is starting to get on my nerves. Basically, I'll notice that things look pixilated and not HD, I'll check the Speed Test and the speed will be very slow, typically around 1 Mbps. All I do is reboot the Apple TV without touching anything else and I'm getting ~100 Mbps.

This is driving me nuts. Does anyone know why it just will constantly nearly lose its connection like this? Anything I can do?

Before Reboot:


After Reboot:
I’m having this exact same issue. It’s quite frustrating and Apple was of no help. This seems like a new problem potentially software related however, I’ve done a hard reset of the device. I don’t have the ability to run Ethernet cable to this Apple TV. Hoping somebody has found a solve for this...
 

IowaLynn

macrumors 68000
Feb 22, 2015
1,543
349
I have different passcodes for 2.4 and 5.0. But had a lot of trouble even with wired WiFi to my set, not ATV 4k, which I just got.

We had terrible close by lightning storms back in late August. Replaced router with AX wifi6 unit. Still iffy. Once or twice a day would drop from 100Mb down to 10 or even less.

Replaced modem and almost vanished totally but seems every Saturday need to unplug and reboot modem and of course the router.

I blame Netflix in part for my trouble. Lightning and ISP too. Dropped Netflix and got the 4k ATV hoping things are better. And new coax filtering and grounding.
 

YesNoMaybe

macrumors newbie
Dec 2, 2019
1
0
I have same issue. Two ATVs. One is 4k and the other is not. Issue occurs after awaking ATV from sleep. Speed test shows around 12Mb. Rebooting devices takes approx 25 secs and retesting speed its at 100mb. Its not an interference issue. It has to be some kind of issue in the ATVs awake routine. This wreaks havoc on streaming quality for hulu live. Im using a mesh network and can view RSSI strength and AP attachment in realtime, its not that either. Something in the code on the device. May try to see if its possible to grab logs and see whats up
 

Kevin Geibel

macrumors newbie
Dec 18, 2019
3
0
I have the same issue. I have 2 AT4K, I use them daily and they require rebooting every day. When they first turn on they either get no connection (speed test fails) or i get around 5 Mbps. After reboot, they are hitting 250-300 Mbps. we recently switched to using the plume mesh network. we didn't have any apple TV issues before plume. they would only connect to our old network at a consistent 50-60 Mbps, so the plume is a nice upgrade as everything in the house now is blazing fast. but, for some reason Apple TV does not get a good connection upon wake.
 

millerrh

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 14, 2005
463
31
I have the same issue. I have 2 AT4K, I use them daily and they require rebooting every day. When they first turn on they either get no connection (speed test fails) or i get around 5 Mbps. After reboot, they are hitting 250-300 Mbps. we recently switched to using the plume mesh network. we didn't have any apple TV issues before plume. they would only connect to our old network at a consistent 50-60 Mbps, so the plume is a nice upgrade as everything in the house now is blazing fast. but, for some reason Apple TV does not get a good connection upon wake.
We use the Google Mesh system, so maybe something about mesh systems are causing this? At any rate, mine was solved by hard wiring the one that would do it all the time. So now out of our 3 ATVs, 2 are hard wired and one is not yet does not exhibit the behavior as much as the living room one so can deal with occasional reboots.
 

Kevin Geibel

macrumors newbie
Dec 18, 2019
3
0
We use the Google Mesh system, so maybe something about mesh systems are causing this? At any rate, mine was solved by hard wiring the one that would do it all the time. So now out of our 3 ATVs, 2 are hard wired and one is not yet does not exhibit the behavior as much as the living room one so can deal with occasional reboots.

I tried setting the one ATV 4k TV to have a static IP today in the plume app..just trying anything to see if it would make a difference... the same behavior persists. we actually have 3 Apple TV's, the 3rd one is not a 4k box, but just an ATV HD. i only use that one a couple times a week, but i have yet to experience this problem on the older device. Are all of your ATV's the same type? wondering if it is related to the newer 4k versions?

This problem is annoying...hope there is a fix for it someday. We exclusively use ATV for TV...got rid of cable a long time ago. This happens so frequently that I have programmed a reboot button onto the remote.
 

Attachments

millerrh

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 14, 2005
463
31
I tried setting the one ATV 4k TV to have a static IP today in the plume app..just trying anything to see if it would make a difference... the same behavior persists. we actually have 3 Apple TV's, the 3rd one is not a 4k box, but just an ATV HD. i only use that one a couple times a week, but i have yet to experience this problem on the older device. Are all of your ATV's the same type? wondering if it is related to the newer 4k versions?

This problem is annoying...hope there is a fix for it someday. We exclusively use ATV for TV...got rid of cable a long time ago. This happens so frequently that I have programmed a reboot button onto the remote.
Yes, all mine are the 4K variety.
 

PinchedSquare

macrumors newbie
Dec 20, 2019
1
0
Hawaii, USA
Just putting it out there. have been experiencing the exact same issue now for the past year using a ATV 4K, LG 4K Oled and Google wifi. No solutions yet.
 

P.DeFranco

macrumors newbie
Jan 7, 2020
2
0
Just putting it out there. have been experiencing the exact same issue now for the past year using a ATV 4K, LG 4K Oled and Google wifi. No solutions yet.
I also have that configuration w/a 2017 4K LG OLED 65” w/Google WiFi and exact same network issues w/ATV 4K. I’m wondering if that’s related to the issue.?
 

millerrh

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 14, 2005
463
31
Tv is not part of the issue but Google WiFi might be. I’m using a Sony.
 

P.DeFranco

macrumors newbie
Jan 7, 2020
2
0
I just changed only the DNS to use Google’s @ 8.8.8.8 and now it’s finally connected and I no longer get the network connection warnings—but it’s still much slower than my other devices on the same Google Wifi network. By the way, my signal is always at full or excellent.
- - Post merged: - -

Thanks to everyone here for the comments and suggestions! Even though it’s not fixed, I’m much farther along than I was before visiting this Forum.
 

Kevin Geibel

macrumors newbie
Dec 18, 2019
3
0
Yes, all mine are the 4K variety.
I noticed when my ATV wakes up and has this issue it is getting connected to the plume pod that is furthest away. we only have 2 pods...and far away means about 25 feet. I ended up unplugging the 2nd plume pod, my mesh network is no longer a mesh...and really, the main pod is enough to cover the house. This has resolved my issues, no more slow ATV connection, no more daily restarting. It's not ideal, the whole purpose of getting these networks is to give better coverage to large houses.