Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Anarchy99

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Dec 13, 2003
CA
im getting a dual 1.8 ghz g5 in a month or so and im a student and i cant afford an lcd especially apple's displays
so i looked on ebay and i can get a 20-22" crt for real cheep at least half the price of a lcd i told my friend this and he said crts are bad and didn't give me a reason
so my question is why are they so bad and cheep compared to lcds

cluthz

macrumors 68040
Jun 15, 2004
Norway
Anarchy99 said:
im getting a dual 1.8 ghz g5 in a month or so and im a student and i cant afford an lcd especially apple's displays
so i looked on ebay and i can get a 20-22" crt for real cheep at least half the price of a lcd i told my friend this and he said crts are bad and didn't give me a reason

CRTs are big, not bad.
Many graphics designers still use CRTs, because they are know the produce a more correct picture (if calibrated properly..)

CONS:
They take up a lot of space.
Not so good for the eyes as the LCDs
PROS:
A quality CRT is half the price of a LCD
They have better resolution scaling and supports higher resolutions

cube

Suspended
May 10, 2004
For how long has the monitor you are considering been used?
What's the brand and model?

Jo-Kun

macrumors 6502a
Dec 20, 2003
Antwerp-Belgium
lcd use less power, better for the eyes, more expensive, nice to put on a desk ;-)

crt big big big (I have 2 CRT's on my desk connected to my G5)

best crt with calibration possibilities: LaCie 19" & 22" not sure about US prices but the 19" is app 500 euro and the 22" 900 (apples 20" is 1600 euro and laCie's 321 lcd, best there is for color calibration: 1600 euro Lacie's lcd is 1600 x 1200 apples is lower...) allso look at Eizo they have allso a god lcd, but i think its even more expensive than LaCie/Apple...