Are people with higher intelligence less happy?

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by sigamy, Jul 11, 2013.

1. sigamy, Jul 11, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2013

sigamy macrumors 65816

First, let me say that I do not wish to offend, criticize or insult any one in any way with this post. I am interested in opinions on this question:

Are people with higher intelligence less happy humans?

I'm in early 40's with a spouse and two kids. I have an BS degree from major University and a corporate stooge job. I would say I have average intelligence for a college graduate (not even sure what that means)...

I'm sure there will be plenty of grammatical mistakes in this post, so there you go...

My spouse says that I am miserable. I am no fun. I do not enjoy life.

My point of view is how can I be happy when I know what the world brings? I know of all my debts, struggles with raising kids, helping them find a secure future, the political landscape, social injustice, the rat's nest of local politics and nepotism, corruption, etc.

Generally speaking, children are happy. Of course they throw fits and they want what they want. But, when free to play, they are happy and content. Why? Because they have very little knowledge and no real worries.

I have to believe there is a correlation to this in adults who have less knowledge and fewer concerns.

Thoughts?

2. miloblithe macrumors 68020

miloblithe

3. roadbloc macrumors G3

roadbloc

Sounds like you need to stop caring about stuff. I do it all the time. Ignorance is certainly bliss. Kick back, and enjoy the sunshine with your favourite drink/narcotic sometime and just... forget.

4. petvas macrumors 601

petvas

The more intelligent someone is, the less happy he/she is. This is a fact of life.
    Ignorance is sometimes better...

5. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

Big-TDI-Guy