Are the Apple stores restocking the Tmobile model?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by strikerdark, Sep 24, 2013.

  1. strikerdark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #1
    I'm planning to go camp at my local apple store tomorrow morning so i can grab a 5s. However, I need a tmobile model. Does anyone know if they are restocking it regularly or are they concentrating on the ATT, Verizon and Sprint versions?
     
  2. user-name-here macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #2
    I'd say an Apple store manager is trying to restock whatever he can to increase sales, so yes, I would say they are restocking the T-mobile version.

    No guarantee you get one though ;)
     
  3. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #3
    Actually, since you are paying full cost upfront, you can purchase the Verizon or AT&T models "device only" and use them with your T-Mobile SIM. The phones are identical (except the Verizon adds CDMA support), and when purchased full price from Apple, the AT&T model is unlocked. All Verizon phones are unlocked, as well. In fact, that's why I did on Saturday because I wanted the 32GB and all the AT&T phones were 64GB. I can confirm that both my AT&T and T-Mobile SIM are capable of LTE on the Verizon iPhone.

    Just say you are buying the phone "device only" and they won't try to sell you a contract.
     
  4. strikerdark thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #4
    Can I do this even though I dont have an ATT or Verizon account?
     
  5. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #5
    Yes. I don't have a Verizon account, and had no issues getting the Verizon iPhone "device only" from an Apple Store in Chicago. I also have bought the AT&T models device only in the past. They don't ask for any contract information.
     
  6. strikerdark thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #6
    one last question. I know that the Tmobile, ATT and Verizon iphones 5s share the same LTE frequencies, but do they also share the same 3g ones. I ask because Tmobile's LTE network here in Miami is really crappy, but their HSPA+ (3g) network is awesome
     
  7. Col Ronson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #7
    from what i heard the managers have no say in what shipments they get, at least not within the first few weeks of a launch. The system automatically orders based on what is purchased, etc.
     
  8. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #8
    Yes, they all support the same 3G frequencies (850/900/1800/1900/AWS).
     
  9. strikerdark thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #9
    Ok, I was able to get the phone yesterday. Got the Verizon version of the phone. Works perfectly on Tmobile. Thank you so much!!
     
  10. jackagi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    #10
    So to sum that up, you are saying that the verizon phone is factory unlocked, which means I could theoretically put an UK SIM card in it and it would work?
     
  11. carfac macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #11
    doesnt the tmo have some extra special LTE freq the others do not?
     
  12. Col Ronson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #12
    that was the iPhone 5.

    The Verizon/AT&T/Tmobile iPhone 5S & 5C are all the same models. This is clearly stated on the apple store website. Only difference Verizon will not activate any AT&T or Tmobile iPhones for their CDMA network.
     

Share This Page