Are there any slim, fanless video cards to upgrade my gt120s ? (mac pro 4,1)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by gjarold, Nov 2, 2017.

  1. gjarold macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #1
    I have a early 2009 mac pro 4,1 which has dual gt120 cards inside of it. So I have a total of four video outs (2x DP and 2x DVI).

    Very happy with these slim, silent cards - the problem is that they won't drive a newer 4k display.

    I *still require* four video outs ... but I don't have high demands for GPU/graphics ... I would love to use a single-slot card with nothing but displayport ports. Fanless would be a bonus ...

    Does that exist ?

    Is there a single slot card, with dual 4k@60 DP ports (v1.4) that I can use in my mac pro ?

    Again, fanless would be a bonus, but the real issue is being single slot since I need other slots free for PCIe SSD and USB3 card ....

    Thanks.
     
  2. mikas, Nov 2, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2017

    mikas macrumors regular

    mikas

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    The first slot is double slot, so installing a single slot card in it does not give any benefit with the number of slots available. You certainly can have four monitors and two slots still available. I think you can get six monitors and two slots available. Maybe a lot more, if you want to examine and modify a little bit.

    There are examples of these configurations seen around this great forum. These posts there are why I started my own experiments. Thank You to all pioneers here.

    In my tests I used the configuration seen as an attachment. 2xAMD, RX570/RX460 cards, nVidia GT120, Kingston HyperX Predator 480GB. That means 8 monitors and a pretty fast PCIe SSD. Now I have reverted to only 3 monitors, and a PCIe SSD. One slot still empty and available, maybe for my Inateck 4006 USB 3.0.

    edit. Oops. Omitted the "fanless" part, sorry..
     

    Attached Files:

  3. joebclash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    #3
    Have you looked into FirePro W7000? I believe a few people on this board uses them. I have a uad card in slot 2. It gets very hot. I don't like my video card so near my uad card. I also been looking for a good single slot card.
     
  4. ssgbryan macrumors 6502a

    ssgbryan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #4
    a GTX 1030 will drive a 4k panel.

    Not great for gaming but it is a 2Gb card designed for use for home theater, hence the 4k panel capability.

    As an added bonus, they are pretty cheap ($70 - $80). They also come fanless.
     
  5. devon807 macrumors 6502

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #5
    I agree, the W7000 seems like a good GPU
     
  6. gjarold thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #6
    Wow - thank you - although it is not fanless, I think that is exactly what I am looking for.

    I see that these are displayport v1.2a, and I see that the table here:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DisplayPort#Resolution_and_refresh_frequency_limits_for_DisplayPort

    shows that DP v1.2a can drive 3840x2160 @ 60hz.

    So I should not have any flicker/refresh issues @ full 4K, correct ?
     
  7. devon807 macrumors 6502

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #7
  8. MisterAndrew, Nov 2, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2018

    MisterAndrew macrumors 65816

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Ore.
    #8
    The WX 7100 is theoretically supported in 10.13 (based on the device ID). Basically pro version of RX 480.

    Update: The WX 7100 card's device ID needs to be changed from 67c4 to 67c0 (either faked or in the VBIOS) in order for the AMD9520Controller.kext driver to load.
     
  9. gjarold thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #9
    Can I use the WX7000, on a mac pro 4,1, running El Capitan, without having to upgrade my mac pro firmware ?
     
  10. MisterAndrew macrumors 65816

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Ore.
    #10
    Pretty sure you'd need to update your firmware to run High Sierra.
     
  11. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #11
    Not sure why you'd want a single-slot GPU, I'd rather replace both GT120 by a more modern one. Starting with Kepler generation, all consumer level Nvidia GPUs support up to 4 concurrent displays including 4K on DP (only on models with enough ports obviously), some AMD cards even support up to 6 displays.

    I don't see the need for a workstation level GPU, even old AMD HD 7xxx GPUs for <$100 would do what you want.
     
  12. MIKX macrumors 65816

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #12
    I think there is "fanless" Nvidia 750Ti .. . according to Netkas, the ROM God.
     
  13. devon807 macrumors 6502

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #13
    There is one from Palit, but I believe it is no longer sold pal-ne5x75t00941-1073h-box.jpg
     
  14. Naimfan Suspended

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #14
    Question - based on relative scores in Passmark, the RX 580 (~8250) is substantially faster than the WX 7100 (~5300). How would the WX 7100 be the "pro" version of the RX-580?
     
  15. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #15
    You don't buy a workstation grade GPU because of it's raw processing power, consumer GPUs are always faster (at least in terms of single precision TFLOPs). You buy it because of its superior software/driver support, performance optimizations in professional CAD applications or ECC VRAM.
     
  16. Naimfan Suspended

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #16
    Ah! That makes sense. Thank you.

    I was imagining it would be analogous to the comparison between something like an i7 and Xeon CPU.
     
  17. gjarold thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #17
    Right, but what about El Capitan ? I checked the official page for the firepro w7000:

    http://www.amd.com/en-us/products/graphics/workstation/firepro-3d/7000

    ... and in the specs it only mentions what versions of Windows it will work for - no mention of OSX.

    So I am wondering if it will work in El Cap ... so I can avoid firmware upgrades, etc.
     
  18. William Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand.
    #18
    Just to help people answering your question, do you need the Boot Screen? And how much fiddling are you willing to do to make something work?

    Or do you want it to be plug and play like it would be if it was an official Apple card?
     
  19. ssgbryan macrumors 6502a

    ssgbryan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #19
    I don't know why these folks keep pushing high end cards when the OP has stated that his graphics requirements aren't high. You don't need a $400+ card to drive a 4k monitor.

    A GTX 1030 is designed specifically to push 4k panels and it is around $70 - 80.
     
  20. William Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand.
    #20
    The issues is. He wanted 4 display ports with a single slot. Low end geforce cards are limited in that area.
     
  21. gerardomare1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    #21
    hello
    Is the 1030 enough to use Adobe Lightroom. I have 1 gt120 Mac Pro 4,1 to 5,1 and 24 gb ram. Im going to see any difference?
    thanks a lot
     
  22. ssgbryan macrumors 6502a

    ssgbryan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #22
    The 1030 is a 2Gb card - I am sure you will see a difference.

    10x the Cuda cores: 384 Cuda cores (same as GT 640)
    2x Base clock speed 1227Mhz
    2 - 4x memory (2Gb)
    Supports OpenGL 4.5
    Max Resolution: 7680x4320@60 Hz aka 8K (using both display ports)
    30 watt power draw.

    I've been following the threads over at insanely Mac and tonymacx86.

    The 1030 isn't a gaming card (although it seems acceptable at medium resolutions at 1080p).

    I am getting 2 of them on Dec 26. 1 for my 1,1 (I'm turning it into a HTPC), and I'll replace my Apple 5770 in my 4,1 with the other.
     
  23. MisterAndrew macrumors 65816

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Ore.
    #23
    You'll have to search for the device ID for the card you want to install in OS X's drivers. If the card didn't exist when El Capitan was a current OS then the answer is no.
     
  24. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #24
    If you want a high-end GPU but don't want the noise, there are 3rd-party fan-less heatsinks which you can attach to them; however, those kits don't fit certain models.

    Keep in-mind that modern GPUs are normally inaudible, due to the fact that their fans don't spin until the card reaches a heat threshold; and, even once they're running, they're either silent or barely detectable. In my experience, I've noticed that NVIDIA cards are generally the quietest (although, it can depend upon the brand of the cooler). Fan-blower cards are generally louder, so avoid those - go with a card whose cooler has an open-blade design and, preferably, dual fans.

    A potent card for its age is the GTX 660. While its fans run constantly, they're totally inaudible. They're both extremely quiet and utterly drowned out by the noise produced by the case fans. My GTX 1060 was also inaudible and had the start-stop fan feature; however, I forfeited that card for other reasons. (10xx cards are glitchy under OSX.)
     
  25. gerardomare1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    #25
    Hi, thanks for the info



     

Share This Page

33 November 2, 2017