As I supposed to have an EFI or Recovery HD partition?

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by jdaniel, Nov 21, 2013.

  1. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #1
    I remember having in but after swapping my HDD I do not anymore..so I am a bit wary about using carbon copy cloning.. do not want to clone something that was not set up properly.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Disk Utility by default does not show the hidden partitions.

    Open up Terminal then type in the following and press enter:

    Code:
    diskutil list
    This will list all the drives and their partitions.

    The output should be something like the following:

    Code:
    /dev/disk0
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *1.0 TB     disk0
       1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1
       2:                  Apple_HFS Macintosh HD            999.3 GB   disk0s2
       3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk0s3
     
  3. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #3
    oh ok thanks I shall try that... I have a new problem but no point opening up a new post if u can help out so I put my replacement drive in.. took my WD black out put it in an external enclosure migrated all the good stuff.. but now.. I deleted the partition on it and I cant rename it or anything like i cant totally wipe it......I dont wanna have it remain macintosh HD coz it may be confusing..
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #4
    the one i wanna wipe is the 750GB 2nd disk
     

    Attached Files:

  5. ssls6 macrumors 6502a

    ssls6

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
  6. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Its using CoreStorage thats why it appears that way.

    Personally if you want to wipe it I would type the following command in Terminal, then press enter (make sure it really is disk1 you want to wipe).

    Code:
    sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/disk1
    It will ask for your login password, which you type in (it won't show anything being entered) then press enter.
    Nothing will appear to happen.

    Then wait a few seconds and press ctrl + c.


    What this does is wipe the partition table so the disk appears as if it has nothing on it. You can then repartition it however you want.
     
  7. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #7
    Last login: Fri Nov 22 20:01:19 on console
    JDs-MacBook-Pro:~ JD$ diskutil cs list
    CoreStorage logical volume groups (2 found)
    |
    +-- Logical Volume Group BB393CBC-D15F-494C-A301-154623C8638C
    | =========================================================
    | Name: Macintosh HD
    | Status: Online
    | Size: 999345127424 B (999.3 GB)
    | Free Space: 16777216 B (16.8 MB)
    | |
    | +-< Physical Volume C8C7AEDA-2398-4234-8BAA-9BE0805DEA80
    | | ----------------------------------------------------
    | | Index: 0
    | | Disk: disk0s2
    | | Status: Online
    | | Size: 999345127424 B (999.3 GB)
    | |
    | +-> Logical Volume Family 704CBC26-50C9-48B9-A1AF-6E367E273032
    | ----------------------------------------------------------
    | Encryption Status: Unlocked
    | Encryption Type: AES-XTS
    | Conversion Status: Converting
    | Conversion Direction: forward
    | Has Encrypted Extents: Yes
    | Fully Secure: No
    | Passphrase Required: Yes
    | |
    | +-> Logical Volume 66ABA0EE-9AFA-4F77-80BE-3A122E63DCF2
    | ---------------------------------------------------
    | Disk: disk1
    | Status: Online
    | Size (Total): 999009579008 B (999.0 GB)
    | Conversion Progress: 8%
    | Revertible: Yes (unlock and decryption required)
    | LV Name: Macintosh HD
    | Volume Name: Macintosh HD
    | Content Hint: Apple_HFS
    |
    +-- Logical Volume Group 3871AE32-2714-4E29-9B88-5A4A690B1A5D
    =========================================================
    Name: Macintosh HD
    Status: Online
    Size: 749296615424 B (749.3 GB)
    Free Space: 748977840128 B (749.0 GB)
    |
    +-< Physical Volume 28FA23B8-C518-4171-9D6B-BD9EB38E88DD
    ----------------------------------------------------
    Index: 0
    Disk: disk2s2
    Status: Online
    Size: 749296615424 B (749.3 GB)
    JDs-MacBook-Pro:~ JD$

    ----------

    /dev/disk0
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk0
    1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
    2: Apple_CoreStorage 999.3 GB disk0s2
    3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk0s3
    /dev/disk1
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: Apple_HFS Macintosh HD *999.0 GB disk1
    /dev/disk2
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: GUID_partition_scheme *750.2 GB disk2
    1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk2s1
    2: Apple_CoreStorage 749.3 GB disk2s2
    3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk2s3
    JDs-MacBook-Pro:~ JD$


    thanks for the info !!!!! I think its disk 2 now... 750GB right? the last one

    ----------

    I tried:

    Last login: Fri Nov 22 21:05:28 on ttys000
    JDs-MacBook-Pro:~ JD$ sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/disk2
    dd: /dev/disk2: Input/output error
    57521+0 records in
    57520+0 records out
    29450240 bytes transferred in 11.511809 secs (2558263 bytes/sec)
    JDs-MacBook-Pro:~ JD$
    JDs-MacBook-Pro:~ JD$ sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/disk2
    ^C15649+0 records in
    15648+0 records out
    8011776 bytes transferred in 3.388236 secs (2364586 bytes/sec)
    JDs-MacBook-Pro:~ JD$

    didnt ask for password and nothing happened.
     
  8. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    It appears you have wiped the correct drive as it looks like you have enabled FileVault2 (or done something else to switch to CoreStorage), hence the extra disk1 appeared, causing your external to appear as disk2.

    Have you checked again in disk utility?

    As it appears to have been able to write 0's to the start of the disk ok.
    So the drive should appear in disk utility as being empty with no partitions.
     
  9. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #9

    oooh although it didnt ask me for pwd it appears to have worked.. u r a genius.. THANKS!
     

Share This Page