Aspyr to bring Call of Duty 4 to Mac

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by fblack, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. NAG macrumors 68030

    NAG

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    /usr/local/apps/nag
    #2
    Also Spore is going to be simultaneous release (mac pc)...you know...when that hot place freezes over.
     
  2. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #3
    hell yeah! I love CoD4. Got it for 360, but will probably end up getting it for mac too
     
  3. marclapierre13 macrumors 6502a

    marclapierre13

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
  4. ob81 macrumors 65816

    ob81

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #5
    I have it for PC already, but this is great news.
     
  5. crap freakboy macrumors 6502a

    crap freakboy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    nar in Gainsborough, me duck
    #6
    Whats Aspyrs track record like on Intel native games eg framerate, bugs,etc?
     
  6. FullCollapse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    Oneonta, NY
    #7
    sounds cool, but i think i'll stick to my xbox on this one!
     
  7. Spliff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #8
    I'll stick to my PC version (which works great) as I've also heard horror stories with the COD2 port (which just recently got fixed, go figure).
     
  8. myjay610 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #9
    That's sweet! I love the game for XBox but as a unreal, counterstrike, MOAA guy from a while ago I miss my mouse+WASD controls...I was never too good with the xbox controller :(
     
  9. famicom69 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #10
    Thank god. Lets just hope its a good clean conversion.
     
  10. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #11
    Excellent. The one game I hope my lowly HD2400 will cope with :D
     
  11. n-abounds macrumors 6502a

    n-abounds

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    #12
    COD4 seriously...rocks...I love it for my 360. And I don't like these kinds of games usually.
     
  12. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
  13. billmister macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #14
    What do u mean by clean?
     
  14. jakeguy99 macrumors regular

    jakeguy99

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    #15
    I have it for windows already and it runs with amazing FPS. I would rather have it on mac, however after running cod 2 poorly which some what kills the game-play i think i will just stick with the windows version. I find that most of the games seem to run much much better when played in windows.
     
  15. iLao macrumors member

    iLao

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia
    #16
    Me too! :(
     
  16. fblack thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #17
    Looks to be a decent year for Aspyr and mac gaming. They are supposed to release NWN2 in feb, Quake Wars should come soon after, and now COD4 in may. Not too shabby.

    Yea, it bites. I think there's an opportunity for some game developers to cater to people with G5s. However, we are now starting to see games come out that require more robust graphics than a radeon 9800 gpu might provide.

    Clean, wholesome. Hmmm... maybe he means no nudity or violence. A G-rated version of COD4? You know for the kids...:D
     
  17. lucky3killer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #18
    Yup, it will work on HD 2400 XT like all of 6 Intel only games from EA are support HD 2400 XT then COD4 will be fine with that, don't worry.

    Only problem is about you wouldn't get max setting for this games, probably low to medium, depends on graphic setting and won't able to use native resolution due 64 bit from HD 2400 XT.

    I own iMac with HD 2400 XT, that's better than Intel GMA from MB and Mac Mini.
     
  18. Everythingisnt macrumors 6502a

    Everythingisnt

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #19
    Definitely looking forwards to this =). Hopefully it will be just as fast as the PC version...
     
  19. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #20
    Not Transgaming's cider port... since it has problems... just like all wrappers or emulation.


    But seeing as this is Aspyr... I actually think it's going to be a 'better' port.
     
  20. spencers macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #21
    Wow that's a while.

    I've been playing the PC version in Boot Camp. :)
     
  21. sk8r527 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
  22. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #23
    A geforce 6800 GT (or a 7800) which i think is a bit more powerful then the 9800 pro, even in a G4 this would be enough to drive most games. let alone a dual 1.4ghz or 1.8ghz G4.

    there is a site www.themacelite.com the allows you to put a way more powerful video card in a Mac then a 9800 pro (if its a G4) which is not a bad card by any means, but a geforce 6800 GT (or 7800) will stomp one easily. a G5 will benefit even more from one. but the Makers/porting houses are looking at what the system came shipped with and its BTO options and not what it can be upgraded to.
     
  23. fblack thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #24
    I've got a 6800GT in my QS, but its a flashed card and as you pointed out a developer/porting house is not going to bring a game to the mac based on what is hypothetically possible. This is why I mentioned the 9800 which is what you might find in someone's PPc mac if they like to game and what developers might be looking at as a minimum. The 9800 was a good card, but its now getting long in the tooth.

    Quake 4 and Prey are based on the Doom 3 engine and that's why I thought there might be a chance of seeing Quake Wars on G5s. However, I think I heard on a IMG podcast that its not likely. A bit of this goes back to the options we get in graphics cards on macs. Historically, its been mainly not much in the way of options. If the Radeon X800 had been more available and cheaper (God, its still almost $400 on OWC!) we might have had a few more games pushed our way. Hopefully, if Intel macs gain more market share, customers might see more graphics upgrades. Maybe.
     
  24. aLoC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #25
    2007 was a strange year for Aspyr. They had stuck with the Mac through thick and thin, and then last year when it started to take off again, they were mysteriously absent.
     

Share This Page