Asus Stix Gtx 970 in Mac Pro Has Low Fps in Many Games and in Cinebench

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Ibrahim Elsharkawy, Aug 12, 2015.

  1. Ibrahim Elsharkawy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    #1
    Hi,
    I recently got a new Graphics card for my Mac Pro 3,1 it is a Asus Stix Gtx 970 OC 4 gb. I'm on The latest Yosemite Version 10.10.4 and I installed the latest Nvidia (346.02.02f03 or 10.5.2) and Cuda Drivers (7.0.61) for Mac , But in cinabench I get an average fps of 37 and in games like cs:go I get 80 Fps on Low settings while people with the same card get in the 100s in cinabench and 200-300 fps in cs:go with my settings.Why is this? and is there a way to fix it?
    Please Help ASAP
    Thank You
     
  2. bladerunner2000 macrumors 68000

    bladerunner2000

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    #2
    CPUs are the bottleneck. You need a new machine to take advantage of the GPU. You're better off getting something like a GTX 650 Ti as its much cheaper and will yield more or less the same results.
     
  3. Ibrahim Elsharkawy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    #3
    I did a test to see if that was the case but it wasn't. I have 2 x 2.8 quad core xeons . But I did notice my ram was always at 100% usage does that affect anything?
     
  4. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #4
    How, exactly? Put it this way: you're pairing a system from 2008 using CPU technology from 1-2 years earlier than that with a GPU from 2015. One of these will not be able to keep up with the other.
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    100% RAM usage is good, unless the memory pressure is red, there is nothing to worry about it. Yosemite is very good at fully utilise all the RAM to speed up the system.
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    3,1 has a fast and hard speed wall from CPU/FSB

    No GPU I have can best 35fps in Uningine Valley Extreme HD preset, up to that speed, many cards score lower but 7970 and above all get 35 fps because CPU/FSB stops them.

    Put same cards in 4,1/5,1 and they line up in layers to 55 fps

    Don't get me started on Cinebench
     
  7. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #7
    Cinebench is as meaningful as asking my grandma about GPU performance.
    For other benchmarks, compare with the benchmarks I made a few days ago: R9 280 in MacPro 3,1
    Your card should normally easily outperform mine. However, your CS:GO score hints at a large CPU overhead in Nvidia drivers. Take this benchmark for best comparability.
     
  8. Ibrahim Elsharkawy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    #8
    I took the test and i got these results:

    7487 Frames 86.468 seconds 86.59 fps (11.55 ms/f) 18.448 Fps Variability
     

    Attached Files:

  9. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #9
    I wonder how much longer it will be before the 4,1s and 5,1s hit this barrier and it would no longer be feasible to continue upgrading.
     
  10. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #10
    I would be lying if I said that this hasn't occurred to me.

    Not yet, though.

    Fortunately Apple set the bar really low in the 6,1 so pretty easy to outdo the AMD space heaters in current one.
     
  11. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #11
    Looks a little low to me. I don't have a better explaination than huge CPU overhead of the driver. Can you do some other benchmarks from my linked post?
     
  12. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #12
    Cinebench doesn't run properly on GTX980 OSX. Gets lower scores than 680.
     
  13. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan, Aug 13, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2015

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #13
    In a couple of years you will feel the bottlenecks in 'real world scenarios' But you will still be able to play modern games with it at highest quality...just lower the resolution. Right now there's very little difference in 3D graphics performance with an equivalent PC.

    Compute performance won't be hampered much. You could use a cMP for that as long as the machine lives.

    Storage wise, if x8 lane or SATA 3.2 cards come out that work with the x16 slot then you can have lots of speed.

    Windows will support these machines longer than OSX.
     

Share This Page