AT&T Activation Question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by CosmoPilot, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. CosmoPilot macrumors 65816

    CosmoPilot

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #1
    I'm pretty sure I know the answer to this, but here goes:

    I have an iPhone 5. Just received my 5S. Can I just swap sim cards without doing any type of activation?

    Bought the 5S through Apple, and there was no activation type instructions included. With the iPhone5, it came with instructions (phone number).

    Thanks!
     
  2. Col Ronson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #2
    you can switch the sim cards and be done with it. Eventually AT&T will figure out the new IMEI when the phone access the network so its not that big of a deal.
     
  3. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
  4. CosmoPilot thread starter macrumors 65816

    CosmoPilot

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #4
    Thanks, thought so...that's what I did. Worked like a champ.
     
  5. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #5
    Still have to load all your apps, data, contacts, though, right? I've got time, I just plan on a backup and restore.
     
  6. CosmoPilot thread starter macrumors 65816

    CosmoPilot

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #6
    Yeah, either using an iTunes backup or iCloud backup
     

Share This Page