AT&T iPhone 5 on T-Mobile prepaid question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by redsoxguy676, Apr 12, 2013.

  1. redsoxguy676 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #1
    I currently have a 16 gb iphone 5 from att. I would like to just try out t mobiles network in my area to see if its worth it to switch. What would I have to do to use a t mobile prepaid sim for a month to try their network out on my phone?
     
  2. redsoxguy676 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
  3. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    Go into Tmobile and tell them you want to do that. They will give you the $50 unlimited minutes and texts plan with 500mb data. More data can be had for some additional cash. Alternatively you can order a sim online for their $30 unlimited data (5gb) and texts plan with 100 minutes. You will have to cut the sim to a nano sim size as they don't offer this with a stock nano sim.

    It's worth noting that you are very likely not going to get 3G/4g signal as your handset doesn't support tmobiles hspa+ bands in non refarmed networks. Still, you will at least get an indication of how reception is, in general.
     
  4. redsoxguy676 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #4
    The iPhone I currently have on AT&T was just replaced at an apple store due to power button issue. So I have one of the new model iPhone 5's that has the tmobile capability.

    The question I also have is since I am still under contract my phone is not unlocked. How would I go about unlocking the phone without paying large sums of money to AT&T?
     
  5. siurpeeman, May 5, 2013
    Last edited: May 5, 2013

    siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #5
    first you'll have to make sure your iphone is unlocked. if it isn't, you can get an unlock on ebay for a few bucks. then you'll need a sim card activation kit. i don't think t-mobile sells this in the nano size, so you'll have to either get the full size or the micro and cut that down. next part is simple. you go to the activation site (http://www.t-mobile.com/prepaidactivation), enter your codes and pick the plan you want to try out. after all that you should be set in trying t-mobile prepaid.

    :edit:
    the activation link doesn't seem to work if you click it, but you can copy/paste the url into the browser, and it should work.

    :edit 2:

    the op doesn't need to pay $50/$30 if all he wants to do is try out the service; he can opt for one of their pay-by-the-day plans. for instance, unlimited data (up to 200mb high speed 4g), texts and calls is $3/day.
     
  6. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    He said he wanted a one month plan. I responded to that. Either way, good information.
     
  7. redsoxguy676 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #7
    I just did an unlock on ebay. I did not know tmobile did a day by day trial. What is that all about?
     
  8. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    They let you pay $3 for each day you actually use the phone. This means you have to use data, texts, and/or voice that day and you are charged $3 for the day. Keep in mind, if you go this route, unless you turn cellular data off, you are likely to have cellular data pulled at some point throught the day. This will count as "usage", so you'd pass $30 in 10 days and $50 in 17 days. I think your best value is going to be the $30 plan if you don't make many phone calls. That will give you plenty of wiggle room to try out the network as you move about the city/state/country. I plan on giving this a shot, but I don't stand to save much money monthly, so I've been lazy about it!
     
  9. redsoxguy676 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #9
    Cool thanks for that we'll explained reply. I think I might opt for a few days just to see how it is in my area that I live in and the areas I travel to with work and whatnot.
     
  10. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #10
    Awesome. Good luck! You in Boston area? I assume you like the Red Sox, even if not! ;)
     
  11. redsoxguy676 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #11
    Wish I was in Boston. Live in eastern pa.
     
  12. osofast240sx macrumors 68030

    osofast240sx

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #12
    You will not get the full experience with your phone. You need T-Mobile or unlocked version(post April 12). T-Mobile does have nano sims available(been available fo at least 3 months). I travel to king of pursia often and it's been flawless 4g on my T-Mobile iPhone 5.
     
  13. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #13
    Darn. Was going to ask you what you thought so I could continue being lazy. Haha!
     
  14. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #14
    He already said above that he has the new model iPhone 5 with the Tmobile bands.
     
  15. darkslide29 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    #15
    Sorry to bring this back after a month, but I've had a hard time finding a thread that first my situation exactly, and you've been very helpful with this thread. Thanks for that.

    I just wanted to ask if you knew how to check out what areas or what bands have been re-farmed on T-Mobile?
    I have a launch AT&T iPhone 5, so I know that it doesn't natively support the extra T-Mobile bands.
    However, I'm in San Francisco, and I remember T-Mobile mentioning some previously unsupported bands would soon be supported in the San Francisco Bay Area. I am just not sure if this means the band situation has been taken care of, or if there are additional bands I just won't be able to get?

    Ideally I would of course like to have it be compatible with all bands that T-Mobile has. The OP was 'lucky' enough to have his iPhone replaced with a new one that supports the T-Mobile bands in his area.

    Thanks for any additional info you may know about this.
     
  16. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #16
    Www.airportal.de

    It's an unofficial map, meaning its not released by tmobile, but rather data collected from third parties (users like us). Personally, such information I find to be even better and more reliable than a simple map the carrier pushes out. I am actually giving tmobile a run currently and find the map to be pretty good.

    Also, please never be sorry for bumping a thread. It's a breath of fresh air to see someone actually research and post additional questions in an already existing thread rather than creating another. It helps with the clutter and is helpful potentially for people looking for the same information in the future. Kudos!
     

Share This Page