AT&T...LTE NEVER on?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by pchukwura, Sep 26, 2012.

  1. pchukwura macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #1
    So I was in downtown Palo Alto, and someone I was sitting next to had an iPhone 5 as well, however, his said 'LTE' on the upper left. But mine does not. My device only displays "4G".

    According to AT&T's map this whole area is supposedly in LTE territory. Is there something I have to do to make sure LTE is actually on? I've done speed tests and I never get above 5Mbps-9Mbps.

    Anyone else experience the same?
     
  2. Rat-Boy macrumors 65816

    Rat-Boy

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Georgia
    #2
    I had that happen to me today right after activation.

    I called AT&T and they did some stuff and had me reboot the phone and it started working.

    I would call them as soon as you can, because there is a good chance they have you on the wrong data plan and/or have you as having the wrong phone.

    They had me as having an iPhone 4s. LOL...
     
  3. Diseal3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #3
    Call att. this has been a problem for some people and it required some reprovisioning on att's end.
     
  4. Radiating macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    #4
    You need to reset your network settings, have AT&T reset your sim, and then uninstal and reinstal your sim card.
     
  5. Wicked1 macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    Happen to my wife on release day, Apple verified it was a problem with the phone after I replaced the sim from ATT and swapped my phone with her sim, but they didn't have my model in stock so gave the wife mine and returned hers, I am back on my 4S and she is now fine with LTE on my 5
     
  6. pchukwura thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #6
    Calling them now..(on hold) so we'll see. While i'm waiting, how would I reset my network settings? I already did a power cycle and nothing changed.

    I also hope i have the tools to remove the SIM card if I need to.
     
  7. pchukwura thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #7
    Still speaking with AT&T, they did a reset on their side and i power cycled, but still no go. Where I live too is blanketed by LTE but phone for some reason never picks it up.
     
  8. pchukwura thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #8
    Okay, so AT&T was able to do a reset on their side and my phone now picks up LTE service!
     
  9. formulatwo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #9
    Congrats. Can't wait to try out LTE tomorrow. :D
     

Share This Page