AT&T Signal on iPad 3 vs both the iPad 2 and iPhone 4s

Discussion in 'iPad' started by sseelman, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. sseelman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #1
    Hi - just got the AT&T iPad 3 today. Have had an iPad 2, iPad 1, iPhone 3g, iPhone 3gs and iPhone 4s. So, I am pretty familiar with what to expect in regard to connection speeds and performance. I do not have AT&T LTE in my area yet, and knew that going into this. I travel a lot, and expect it to be where I travel to.

    But, I have noticed that the number of AT&T bars is pretty consistently at 3 or even sometimes 2 on the iPad 3. On the iPad 2 it is almost always at 4 bars. On the iPhone 4 it is usually at 4 or 5.

    Has anyone else seen any changes in regard to signal strength?

    I will say that using the Speedtest.net app on both my iPhone 4s and iPad 3 both show fairly terrible ping rates and download speeds. I have used the AT&T 'Mark the Spot' app to send a report to AT&T. Maybe it is the influx of new iPads or who knows.
     
  2. sparkomatic macrumors 6502a

    sparkomatic

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #2
    This is interesting cause I jumped on the forum to see if anyone else was having an issue like this.

    I have a 4s that has 4 bars consistently and a new iPad right next to it with 1 bar. My iPad 2 had more bars and I'm also in an LTE area but only getting 4G.

    Hmm...
     
  3. sseelman, Mar 16, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2012

    sseelman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #3
    Yes - it is very perplexing. I forgot to mention that I did a complete DFU restore. The only thing that I have not done is to set it up as a new iPad. Maybe that is next, as who knows if it is pulling something bad over from the iPad 2 backup.

    I did also notice that the modem firmware version seems to have changed on the iPad 3 from the iPad 2. It almost seems like a lower version, but I am not sure.
     
  4. shareef777 macrumors 68000

    shareef777

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    Same here, 4 bars on my 4s, 4 bars on my 4, and only 2 on my iPad 3. I have LTE in the area and while on LTE am 'only' getting 5Mbps (which is what I get on my 4S).
     
  5. Peanut207 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #5
    Is that with AT&T or Verizon?
     
  6. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #6
    You're only on LTE if LTE is displayed in the upper left corner.
     
  7. sparkomatic macrumors 6502a

    sparkomatic

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #7
    Okay, goofed around some more and it turns out that I'm just in a poor LTE service area even though the map shows differently on AT&T's website. I'm sure it'll improve eventually.

    I turned off wifi and got LTE with one bar. Then I turned off LTE and I went to 4G with 4 bars (same as my iPhone).
     
  8. Sith Vol macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9B179 Safari/7534.48.3)

    With my Verizon iPad I'm only getting 3 bars. Not sure why. It says I have LTE coverage in my area.
     
  9. Vudoo macrumors 6502a

    Vudoo

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Metroplex
  10. sseelman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #10
    There is definitely something wrong. I turned on my old iPad again and comes right up at 5 bars. New iPad at 3 bars and they are right next to one another.

    Just tried to reset my network settings. Made no difference.

    I still might try to do a reset as a new iPad - just in case it was something from the restore process.
     
  11. richard371 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #11
    Yep my AT&T iPad 3 gets about 3 bars steady at my home in sf. iPhone 4s pretty much 5 bars.

    ----------

    But when I switch LTE off back to hspa+ I get 5 bars so must be an LTE thing.



     
  12. shareef777 macrumors 68000

    shareef777

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #12
    This is on ATT and LTE is displayed. Sadly, if I go into settings and disable LTE I actually can hit 7Mb down. With that said, I plan on swapping for a Verizon unit this weekend.
     
  13. Wide opeN macrumors 6502

    Wide opeN

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #13
    Keep us posted guys, as this is very intersting.

    I considered a 4G iPad for a second but then thought better of it.

    I'll just continue to tether from my phone, especially if the signal is lower on the new iPad.
     

Share This Page